Skip to Main Content

Theatre Studies, Drama, and Dance: Finding Images and Streaming Videos

All things Theatre, for DGSD grad students, TDPS undergrad, and anyone interested in acting, theatrical design, directing, playwriting, etc.

STREAM PLAYS, INTERVIEWS, AND MOVIES

THEATER

MOVIES AND DOCUMENTARIES

DANCE, MUSIC, PERFORMANCE ART, PROTEST ART, MULTIMEDIA ART

Images

Artstor
Over three million images, many from museum collections, searchable by keyword and browsable by medium, time period, etc. Register and log in to download JPEGs to your computer. Create your own details by zooming in and downloading JPEGs of zoomed-in views.

Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Contains the Berg Fashion Library, the full text of the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, images, e-book and e-journal content related to fashion, and the Fashion Photography Archive. Browse chronologically and geographically, or search across 7000+ images.

Global Performing Arts Database
GloPAD (Global Performing Arts Database) records include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators. Approximately 4,500 objects are currently available. Much of this work was made possible by a major three-year grant (October 2002-September 2005) from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) through the Cornell University Library.

Vogue Archive
Every page of every issue of Vogue Magazine from 1892 to the present, digitized and indexed by photographer, model, author, designer, etc.

Harper's Bazaar Archive
Every page of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from 1867 to the present.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Theatre, Music and Literature
Collections of digitized primary-source material from the long 19th century, including "British Playbills 1754-1882" and the "Drury Lane Theatre Archive." These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions.

Yale University Library Digital Collections
Searches across digital images in Yale library collections, including the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Yale Visual Resources Collection, Manuscripts and Archives, the Yale Daily News Archive, and many others.

Watson Library Digital Collections from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Digital images and publications from the Met's collections, including exhibition catalogs from the museum's history, rare books, and sketches, photographs, and fashion plates from the Costume Institute.

Folger Shakespeare Library Digital Image Gallery
Free and open access to over 50,000 digitized objects from the Folger Shakespeare Library's collections, including photographs, books, theater memorabilia, and manuscripts.

New York Public Library Digital Collections
Free and open access to over 800,000 digital images from the NYPL collections, including the Mid-Manhattan Library's Picture Collection.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, Library of Congress
Catalog of over 14 million items held by the Prints and Photographs division of the Library of Congress, with digital access to over 1 million items.

College Art Association: Image Sources and Rights Clearance Agencies
Listing of reputable sources of free images from libraries and museums, including many public-domain and open-access images.

Britannica ImageQuest
Search across millions of images from Britannica Digital Learning.

LIFE Magazine
Searchable, browsable digital versions of issues 1936-1972, hosted by Google.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Erin Carney
she/they
Contact:
Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library
Room 117
203-432-2672

HELLLPPP

I know, I know. There are a lot of links. Which ones do you use? Which are best for what? 
Yale has a lot of resources free for you to use, which can make navigating them intimidating. The librarian in the box right above this is here for you! Explaining it all simply and kindly is literally their job. Click that EMAIL ME button, or stop by and say hello, and they will help!