Yale University Library Research Guides: Theatre Studies, Drama, and Dance: Sound Design

The Music Library

Yale Music Library
The librarians here can point you to everything you need!

Studying Performance Design Through Sound Recordings

Performance Design Through Sound Recording

Popular Databases

Video Streaming

Alexander Street Press - Music and Performing Arts
Alexander Street Press - Music and Performing Arts allows you to search across the many Alexander Street Press music and performing arts databases that Yale Music Library subscribes to including Classical Music in Video, Dance in Video, Opera in Video and Theatre in Video
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall
The Digital Concert Hall provides access to the Berliner Philharmoniker's live performances and rebroadcasts as well as music-related documentaries and interviews.
medici.tv.
This resource is the largest online collection of classical music, operas and ballets in the world. Discover live broadcasts from prestigious venues and archived concerts, artist portraits, documentaries, and education programs.
medici.tv jazz
A collection of jazz performers by great jazz artists, such as Sidney Bechet, Wynton Marsalis, Claude Bolling, Chick Corea, Ella Fitzgerald, and Nina Simone. As of August 2021, includes 293 streaming videos. Click on the Jazz heading to get to this section of medici.tv
Met Opera on demand
Met Opera on Demand provides access to full length Met performances. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
Naxos Video Library
A performing arts video library with hundreds of operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It includes the Naxos DVD label, Opus Arte, Arthaus, Dacapo, EuroArts, among others and is continuously updated.
Organ Cinema: an ever-expanding filmed encyclopedia of the pipe organ and its music
A series of documentary and recital films pertaining to the history and repertoire of the organ. By Fugue State Films in association with the Royal College of Organists. Many more films will be made and added. Ultimately there will be a set of films about each important historical or geographical school of organ music.
QWEST TV
A subscription video streaming channel dedicated to classical, jazz, soul, funk, and world music. The catalog features concerts, award-winning documentaries, rare archival footage, and exclusive content. Each video is accompanied by notes written by journalists and music experts. There are also exclusive playlists personally curated by legends such as Chick Corea, Michael League, Quincy Jones, Ed Motta, and many more.

Podcasts

Making Theatre
Lighting Designers James Farncombe and Bruno Poet host conversations about the complex and sometimes messy business of making a show for theatre. We aim to draw in guests from all aspects of production; from directors and designers to actors, stage managers, technicians, makers, builders and producers, to start a broader conversation about all things involved in bringing a show to the stage.
Staging Sound
This podcast accompanies the research project "The Sound of Theatre", supported by the Centre for Advances Studies at the University of Munich.
Sound Design Live
Build your career as a sound engineer. The podcast for live audio professionals. Interviews with the leading innovators in concert, theatre, and corporate production.