The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) is a labor union representing thousands of members who write content for motion pictures, television, news and online media. The Guild negotiates and administers contracts that protect the creative and economic rights of its members; conducts programs, seminars and events on issues of interest to writers; and presents writers’ views to various bodies of government.
Like the WGAW, The Writers Guild of America, East, AFL-CIO (WGAE) is a labor union representing thousands of members who write content for motion pictures, television, news and online media.
The Dramatists Guild of America is a professional organization for playwrights, composers, and lyricists working in the U.S. theatre market. Membership as an Associate Member is open to any person having written at least one stage play.
Final Draft is the choice screenwriting software of studios and production companies worldwide. Streamlined screenwriting and editing while collaborating. Only available by paid subscription. Discounted educational licenses available for students upon enrollment verification.
Celtx is a scriptwriting and pre-production management software for film, TV, ads, short-format video, commercial video, documentaries, games, VR, and more.
Movie Magic is a desktop scheduling and breakdown software that provides filmmakers with tools to generate production documents.
Scenechronize is a cloud-based, digital solution for secure, cloud-synced collaboration and document and information management.
With StudioBinder screenwriting software, you can write your script natively within StudioBinder’s complete pre-production planning solution. Go from script to shooting schedules, shot lists, breakdown reports, and more — all in one writing and production planning solution.
Arc Studio Pro supports your screenwriting process from idea to finished script. Arc Studio Pro automatically formats your screenplay to industry standards, even if you don’t know what they are. It’s super-easy to use for beginners and fully-customizable for pros.
THEATER
MOVIES AND DOCUMENTARIES
DANCE, MUSIC, PERFORMANCE ART, PROTEST ART, MULTIMEDIA ART
Backstage is a casting platform to help performers find casting calls and auditions, while also providing additional audition support. Must pay dues to apply to audition postings.
Free articles to guide you through the nuts and bolts of playwriting and the theater industry.
Writing specific archive with tips and trips, covering topics such as structure, writing for genre films, and realistic dialogue.
Overview on the fundamentals of how to format a screenplay, created by Final Draft, one of the major screenwriting software companies.
MasterClass, is an American online education subscription platform on which students can access tutorials and lectures pre-recorded by experts in various fields. MasterClass requires a paid subscription. Yale does not subscribe to this service, so individuals must acquire by their own means.
Many special collections repositories within the Yale Library system house rare and unique materials related to drama and theater studies. There are many relevant collections from the Arts Library Special Collections, Manuscripts and Archives, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, and the Yale Center for British Art.
Search for particular productions, people, etc. in collections across campus via Archives@Yale. Keep in mind that many of these materials are stored offsite and require placing requests at least a day or two before you can see them in a reading room. Most collections allow you to bring cameras to photograph materials, but please consult individual repository locations about details and duplication services.
Artstor
Over three million images, many from museum collections, searchable by keyword and browsable by medium, time period, etc. Register and log in to download JPEGs to your computer. Create your own details by zooming in and downloading JPEGs of zoomed-in views.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Contains the Berg Fashion Library, the full text of the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, images, e-book and e-journal content related to fashion, and the Fashion Photography Archive. Browse chronologically and geographically, or search across 7000+ images.
Global Performing Arts Database
GloPAD (Global Performing Arts Database) records include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators. Approximately 4,500 objects are currently available. Much of this work was made possible by a major three-year grant (October 2002-September 2005) from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) through the Cornell University Library.
Vogue Archive
Every page of every issue of Vogue Magazine from 1892 to the present, digitized and indexed by photographer, model, author, designer, etc.
Harper's Bazaar Archive
Every page of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from 1867 to the present.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Theatre, Music and Literature
Collections of digitized primary-source material from the long 19th century, including "British Playbills 1754-1882" and the "Drury Lane Theatre Archive." These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions.
Yale University Library Digital Collections
Searches across digital images in Yale library collections, including the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Yale Visual Resources Collection, Manuscripts and Archives, the Yale Daily News Archive, and many others.
Watson Library Digital Collections from the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Digital images and publications from the Met's collections, including exhibition catalogs from the museum's history, rare books, and sketches, photographs, and fashion plates from the Costume Institute.
Folger Shakespeare Library Digital Image Gallery
Free and open access to over 50,000 digitized objects from the Folger Shakespeare Library's collections, including photographs, books, theater memorabilia, and manuscripts.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Free and open access to over 800,000 digital images from the NYPL collections, including the Mid-Manhattan Library's Picture Collection.
Prints and Photographs Online Catalog, Library of Congress
Catalog of over 14 million items held by the Prints and Photographs division of the Library of Congress, with digital access to over 1 million items.
College Art Association: Image Sources and Rights Clearance Agencies
Listing of reputable sources of free images from libraries and museums, including many public-domain and open-access images.
Britannica ImageQuest
Search across millions of images from Britannica Digital Learning.
LIFE Magazine
Searchable, browsable digital versions of issues 1936-1972, hosted by Google.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved
