Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Resources on Women at Yale : Women as Yale Staff and Coaches

Contains annotated references to archival resources on women students, faculty, and other members of the Yale community.

MS1922: Philip M. and Lorna Sarrel papers (1966-2007, bulk 1966-1980)

Philip Sarrel (an obstetrician-gynecologist) and his wife Lorna Sarrel (a social worker) were instrumental in establishing women’s health services at Yale during the transition to coeducation, including the Yale Sex Counseling Service. These papers cover all aspects of the Sarrels' careers, including activities around women's health at Yale; the establishment of the Young Mothers Program (YMP) at Yale-New Haven Hospital; the inclusion of sex education courses in curricula for Yale undergraduate and medical students; and more.

Browse this collection

Librarians, moving books from the library on Old Campus to Sterling Memorial Library, parading down High Street towards Sterling Memorial Library, 1930 (Local record 8355)

RU110: Administrative Services, Yale University, Records of the Director

The records consist of files created and maintained by Radley H. Daly as associate provost for personnel (1975-1979), and director of administrative services (1979-1987). Of particular note is a “Report on the Status of Women Staff” from 1975, a report assembled by, as described in the report, “a group of women staff members who have been meeting regularly to discuss work-related problems of Yale employees in the clerical-technical and managerial-professional job categories.” There are also other documents related to women staff at Yale, especially in the mid-1970s.

Relevant boxes include:

-RU110, Accn. 1980-A-032, Box 1, folder 20 (1975)

-RU110, Accn. 1980-A-032, Box 5, folders 205 and 228 (c. 1974-1975)

RU171: Commons, Yale University, Records (1883-1927)

Collection contains records related to the Yale Commons, Yale's early dining hall. Besides kitchen inventories and daily menus, this collection contains payroll records and other documents related to the staff who worked in the Commons, including many women who are noted by name.

Browse this collection

RU173: Office of Institutional Research, Yale University, Records and Reports

This collection consists of the records of the Office of Institutional Research (OIR), an office at Yale University tasked with conducting research on various aspects of Yale's operations, personnel, etc. The OIR has undertaken various studies on the number, professional level, and retention of women staff at Yale, some of which are available to view.

Relevant boxes include:

-RU173, Accn. 1984-A-022, Box 1, folders 1-3 (1980)

RU120: Librarian, Yale University Records

Collection contains records related to the development and maintenance of Yale University's libraries. Certain boxes contain material related to women who worked in the library system, especially women advocating for equal pay and the same professional opportunities as their male colleagues during the 1970's.

Relevant boxes include:

-RU120, Accn. 1996-A-047, Box 8, folder 63 (1971-1974)

-RU120, Accn. 19ND-A-241, Box 6, folder 142 (1972)

-RU120, Accn. 19ND-A-245, Box 11, folder 221 (1973)

-RU120, Accn. 19ND-A-239, Box 6, folder 96 (1969)

-RU120, Accn. 19ND-A-246, Box 13, folder 238 (1974)

RU983: Department of Athletics, Yale University, Records of the Athletic Director

Collection contains correspondence, reports, memoranda, and subject files from the office of the Yale Athletic Director, including materials related to Joni Barnett, the first woman to hold the position of Athletic Director at Yale University (1973-1983).

Relevant boxes include:

-RU983, Accn. 2006-A-002, Box 6, folder 329 (1975-1976)

RU103: Papers on Yale Collection

PLEASE NOTE: THE COPYING OF ANY MATERIALS IN RU103: PAPERS ON YALE COLLECTION REQUIRES WRITTEN PERMISSION FROM THE AUTHOR(S) OF THOSE MATERIALS.

Collection contains copies of research papers (mostly Yale College essays) on topics related to the history of Yale. Of special interest is a folder containing a copy of a senior honors thesis by Richard A. Abood Lyon, who attended the Department of Landscape Architecture and Regional Planning at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. The thesis is on prominent American landscape designer Beatrix Jones Farrand (1872-1959), one of the eleven founding fellows (and the only woman) of the American Society of Landscape Architects. As the first consulting landscape gardener at Yale from 1923 until 1945, she designed the planting schemes for Saybrook and Branford Colleges and several of the open courtyards on campus. 

Relevant boxes include:

-RU103, Accn. 19ND-A-251, Box 2, folder 26 (undated)

Farrand's work at Yale has also been comprehensively documented in a recent study by the Yale University Office of Facilities. This study is available to view as part of the RU8: Yale University, Office of Facilities collection:

-RU8, Accn. 2020-A-0053, Box 1, folder 1 (2019)