Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yale Library COVID-19 updates.

Resources on Women at Yale : Audio and Visual Materials

Contains annotated references to archival resources on women students, faculty, and other members of the Yale community.

RU763: Custodial and Administrative Services, Yale University, Photographs

Collection contains photographs and a few other assorted items related to custodial staff at Yale University, including photographs and clippings related to women working in Yale's dining services, laundry, telephone exchange, and clerical bureau. 

Relevant boxes include:

-RU763, Series I, Box 1, folders 7, 19-21 (1865-1969)

RU884: Yale University's 300th Anniversary Commemoration Records

This collection contains materials related to commemorative events for Yale University's 300th anniversary, in 2001.

Relevant materials include:

-Accn. 2002-A-093, Box 5, folder 247(c.1995-2001): Materials related to the film A Hero for Daisy, which chronicles the actions of Yale College alumnus and two-time Olympian Chris Ernst. While a member of the Yale women's rowing team, Ernst led her teammates in a dramatic protest against inequality in women's athletics at Yale.

 

RU840: Office of Public Affairs, Yale University, Motion Pictures

The materials consist of video recordings, notes, statements, motion picture film, stock film, sound tracks, and magnetic tapes used in Office of Public Affairs (formerly Public Information) productions documenting Yale.

Relevant materials include:

-Acc. 1980-A-001: Box 37 (1969): Film reel about coeducation and graduation from 1969

-Acc. 2009-A-156: Box 395 (undated, c. 1970): Video recording related to coeducation and anti-war protests at Yale from 1970

-Acc. 2009-A-156: Box 390 (undated): Film, "We Dared to Win: 25 years of Women's Ivy League Championship," undated

RU686: Guide to the Office of Public Affairs, Yale University, Photographs of Individuals (1870-2005)

Collection contains photographs of prominent Yale University-affiliated individuals, including many women faculty, administrators, and coaches.

Browse this collection

RU803: Yale and New Haven Audio and Visual Recordings

This collection consists of various motion picture and audio recordings documenting Yale University and New Haven. Some items are particularly relevant to the history of women at Yale, especially around the time of coeducation for Yale College.

Relevant items include:

Acc. 2001-A-103: Box 41 (1970): Film reel of documentary "The Year They Liberated Yale"

Acc. 2012-A-009: Boxes 131 and 132 (1961): Audio recording of Smith College president Thomas C. Mendenhall speaking "On the Education of Women" at Yale

Acc. 2012-A-009: Box 222 (1964): Audio recording of educator Homer Babbidge's talk at Yale on coeducation, 1964‚Äč

RU924: Yale University Women's Organization Oral History Project Records (1965-2002)

The materials consist of audiotapes, a videotape, transcripts, and project and background files relating to "One Story, Many Voices: An Oral History of the Yale University Women's Organization."

Browse this collection

Anne Morrisy, a college senior and sports editor for the Cornell Sun paper at Cornell University, became the first woman to enter the Yale University Press Box when she covered the Yale-Cornell football game on Saturday, October 16, 1954 (RU690, Box 10, folder 163)

RU1051: Oral Histories Documenting Yale University Women (2007-2009)

This collection consists of sound recordings and edited transcripts of oral history interviews conducted by Florence Minnis with women faculty, administrators, and staff affiliated with Yale University. The edited transcripts, produced for readability, do not closely match the audiorecordings.

Browse this collection

RU1055: Oral Histories Documenting New Haven

These materials consist of audio recordings and transcripts of oral histories conducted by New Haven Oral History Project staff with New Haven, Connecticut citizens, including prominent Yale-affiliated women.

Relevant boxes include:

-RU1055, Acc. 2008-A-001: Elga Wasserman (2004): Arguably the single most important figure in the history of coeducation at Yale, Dr. Wasserman served as Special Assistant to President Brewster on the education of women, then as Chair of the Committee on Coeducation and head of the Office on the Education of Women.

-RU1055, Acc. 2008-A-001: Constance Royster (2005): Royster, an attorney, was raised in New Haven and was a member of one of the first three co-ed classes at Yale College.