Directories of Protestant Missionaries in China (1874, 1881, 1884, 1902-1906, 1908-1912, 1916-1920, 1936, 1940)
American Context of the China Christian Colleges Project
Legacy website of a project based at Wesleyan University 2002-2003.
Archives on the History of Christianity in China (Hong Kong Baptist University)
The Archives was established in 1996 and collects both primary and secondary resources in English and Chinese relevant to the study of the history of Christianity in China, regardless of denominations. Currently the Archives holds a growing collection of monographs, serials, microfilm, diaries and manuscripts.
Area Studies: China and Southeast Asia
Digitized materials offer an array of Western perspectives and sources on China and Southeast Asia spanning several centuries, from the first British mission to China in 1792-1794 through to the mid 20th century. Includes sources on the China Inland Mission.
Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Christianity
Life stories of significant figures in Chinese Christianity
China: Trade, Politics & Culture, 1793-1980
Contains materials documenting Western interaction with China from 1793-1980. Includes collections relating to missionaries and their experiences. Contains maps, drawings and photographs, and personal accounts of life and work in China throughout the period.
China and the Modern World
A series of digital archive collections that contains several English-language periodicals published in and about China between 1817 and 1949, many of which are related to Christianity.
China Culture and Society: The Wason Pamphlet Collection, 1750-1929; 1800-1929
Includes material by or about the following organizations: American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions, China Inland Mission, Church Missionary Society, East India Company, London Missionary Society, Medical Missionary Society, Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts.
China Missionaries Project: Oral History, 1969-1972.
The Oral History Program at Claremont Graduate School, Claremont California launched a project to assess the influence of the China missionary movement, 1900-1950. Christian workers of various denominations gave their recollections of conditions and experiences in China.
Chinese Christian Posters (Boston University)
Between 1927 and 1951 millions of Christian posters entered the Chinese market. The Center for Global Christianity & Mission, funded by the Henry Luce Foundation, now has these rare images digitally accessible and searchable for the first time.
Chinese Christian Texts Database
Primary and secondary sources concerning the cultural contacts between China and Europe in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries (from 1582 to ca. 1840)
The Flower Mountain Murders: A "Missionary Case"
A database by Ian Welch, Australian National University.
London Missionary Society Collection of Chinese Books
Consists of 722 books, pamphlets, leaflets, manuscripts, newspapers and maps. The bulk of the works were published between the mid-nineteenth century and the early twentieth century.
Peter Parker Papers (China)
Papers of first American medical missionary to China, from Yale University Medical Historical Library.
Translations of the Peking Gazette Online
A database of previously-published English translations of official edicts and memorials from nineteenth century China's Qing dynasty, spanning from the Macartney Mission in 1793 to the abdication of the last emperor in 1912
Western Medicine in China Project
Archive guides, primary sources, digitized materials gathered by Luce-funded project at IUPUI.
