Yale University Library Research Guides: Missions and World Christianity: Asia

Bibliographies: Asian Christianity

Annotated Bibliography on Ministries in the Church in Asia-Pacific by Institute of Missiology Missio
Call Number: Folio Z7837.7 A78 A56 1989 (LC)
Bibliography on Local Church in Asia by Institute of Missiology Missio
Call Number: Folio Z7837.7 A78 B52 1989 (LC)
Christianity in East and Southeast Asia (Edinburgh Companion to Global Christianity) by Kenneth R. Ross (Editor); Francis Alvarez (Editor); Todd M. Johnson (Editor) This volume focuses on Christianity in East and Southeast Asia, covering every country and offering both reliable demographic information and original interpretative essays by indigenous scholars and practitioners. It maps patterns of growth and decline, assesses major traditions and movements, analyses key themes, and examines current trends.
Call Number: BR1275 .C475Y 2020 (Trowbridge Reference Room)
A Dictionary of Asian Christianity by Scott W. Sunquist; David Wu Chu Sing; Chew Hiang Chea (Editors) A reference work for the study of Asian Christianity. Includes 1,260 signed articles with biographies of important Asian church leaders as well as information on the political, cultural, and religious movements that have shaped the Christian faith in this part of the world.
Call Number: BR1065 D52X 2001
Handbook of Christianity in China (2 vols.) by Nicolas Standaert (Editor) Volume 1 covers 635-1800, and volume 2 covers 1800 to the present.
Call Number: BR1285 H36 2001 (Trowbridge Reference Room or SML)
Reference Guide to Christian Missionary Societies in China: From the Sixteenth to the Twentieth Century (Online) by R. G. Tiedemann This guide contains nearly 500 entries identifying both Roman Catholic & Protestant sending agencies & related religious congregations.

Databases: Asian Christianity

Chinese Historical Christian Database The China Historical Christian Database (CHCD) quantifies and visualizes the place of Christianity in modern China (1550-1950). This project breaks new ground in providing quantifiable data about modern Sino-Western relations. Its intuitive interface generates visualizations, lists, and maps for use by the general public, students and teachers in secondary education and colleges, in the US and globally, with English and Chinese navigation.
Documentation of Christianity in Hong Kong Database From Hong Kong Baptist University - identifies the location of primary sources and publications related to Hong Kong Christianity.
South Asia Missionary Archives Guide A preliminary guide to archival collections relating to American Protestant missionary activity in South Asia
Western Medicine in China Project Hosted by IUPUI. Includes archival guides and online content related to the introduction of Western medicine in China.

Relevant Research Guides

Missions and World Christianity: Asia

Bibliographies: Asian Christianity

Databases: Asian Christianity

Relevant Research Guides

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries