Yale University Library Research Guides: Missions and World Christianity: North America/USA

North America

African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church: Records and Research Includes information about the Department of Records and Research of the AME Zion Church.
American Baptist Historical Society The American Baptist Historical Society (ABHS) holds the archives of the American Baptist Churches USA. As the oldest Baptist historical society (founded in 1853) it is arguably the largest and most diverse collection of Baptist historical material.
Billy Graham Center Archives (Wheaton College) The central repository for Wheaton College's archival collections, which is very useful for resources on global evangelism, missions, and evangelical history.
Brethren in Christ Historical Library and Archives (Messiah University) Established in 1951 on the campus of Messiah College, the Brethren in Christ Historical Library and Archives documents the religious, cultural, and social history of the Brethren in Christ Church, a global denomination founded in the United States, with roots in the Anabaptist, Pietist, and Wesleyan traditions of the Christian faith.
Canadian Baptist Archives (McMaster Divinity College) The Canadian Baptist Archives collects local church records for congregations affiliated with Canadian Baptists of Ontario and Quebec (CBOQ), which was formerly known as the Baptist Convention of Ontario and Quebec (BCOQ).
Center for the Evangelical United Brethren Heritage Founded in 1979, the Center for EUB Heritage preserves the story of the EUB Church and its forbearers, the Church of the United Brethren in Christ, the Evangelical Association, the United Evangelical Church, and the Evangelical Church.
Center for the Study of Oneness Pentecostalism These archives are located on the campus of Urshan College and Urshan Graduate of Theology in Wentzville, Missouri. CSOP is the official archive of the United Pentecostal Church International, Urshan College and Urshan Graduate School of Theology.
Christian and Missionary Alliance Archives Includes links to online resources. The C&MA National Archives is located in Colorado Springs.
Church of the Nazarene Archives These archives include records of the General Assembly, the General Board, the Board of General Superintendents, Global Ministry Center, Nazarene Publishing House, Nazarene Theological Seminary, and official committees and commissions of the Church of the Nazarene.
Concordia Historical Institute, Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod Concordia Historical Institute is the Department of Archives and History of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod.
Congregational Library & Archives The Congregational Library and Archives, in partnership with the Jonathan Edwards Center at Yale is currently preserving records of the Congregational Church and making them available to the public.
Episcopal Church Archives The Archives of the Episcopal Church is a canonical agency of the General Convention and a wholly owned entity of the corporate parent body, the Domestic and Foreign Missionary Society of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the United States.
Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Archives The Archives of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America preserve, protect and make accessible the records of the ELCA, its predecessor church bodies, inter-Lutheran agencies and prominent leaders of the church.
Flower Pentecostal Heritage Center, Assemblies of God Arguable the largest Pentecostal archives in the world. Located in the National Office of the Assemblies of God USA, the FPHC collects printed materials, oral histories, artifacts, photographs, and memorabilia documenting the Assemblies of God and the broader Pentecostal and charismatic movements, spanning the globe.
Historical Foundation of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church and Cumberland Presbyterian Church in America The official repository of historical materials for the Cumberland Presbyterian Church and the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in America.
International Church of the Foursquare Gospel Heritage Center Includes information on visiting the parsonage of Aimee Semple McPherson in Los Angeles.
Kautz Family YMCA Archives The Kautz Family YMCA Archives collects the historical records of the Y's national resource office, YMCA of the USA. The archive also holds records of the Greater Twin Cities and Greater New York YMCAs, as well as those of Y's Men International, a service club in partnership with the Y.
Mennonite Church USA Archives The official repository of the Mennonite Church USA Archives. Records of the former General Conference Mennonite Church are housed at the Mennonite Library and Archives at Bethel College (N. Newton, KS).
Missionary Research Library, Union Theological Seminary (NY) The MRL Archives contains collections of named missionaries' papers and institutional records within geographic divisions.
Moravian Archives Collects and preserve records and historical materials of Moravians in North America.
Moravian Church in America - Southern Province The official repository for records of the Moravian Church in America, Southern Province.
Pentecostal Assemblies of Canada Archives The Pentecostal Assemblies of Canada, which became a chartered religious organization in 1919, has a rich history stretching back over a century to the earliest days of the Pentecostal Revival which began in 1906. The Archives exists to preserve and make available the wealth of information that chronicles that history.
Presbyterian Church in America The Historical Center of the Presbyterian Church in America (PCA) is a ministry of the PCA Stated Clerk’s Office, located in St. Louis, Missouri on the campus of Covenant Theological Seminary. Its mission is to preserve the records of the Presbyterian Church in America along with those of four predecessor denominations. The Center also holds the manuscript collections of over 150 people connected with those denominations, plus history materials for some 700 congregations.
Presbyterian Historical Society The national archives of the Presbyterian Church (USA). Includes links to online resources on missionary work worldwide.
Reformed Church in America The Archives is housed at the Gardner A. Sage Library of New Brunswick Theological Seminary. Occupying over a half-mile of shelf space, the holdings date from the 1630s, with correspondence between the New Netherlands dominies and the Classis of Amsterdam, and lead up to present-era records from RCA congregations and governing bodies and the RCA’s many mission fields.
Seventh Day Adventist Archives The Office of Archives, Statistics, and Research (ASTR) is located at the world headquarters of the General Conference (GC) of Seventh-day Adventists just outside of Washington, D.C., in Silver Spring, Maryland, USA.
Southern Baptist Convention, International Mission Board The Archives steward the official records and correspondence of the IMB. Our collections also contain donated materials such as personal papers and artifacts from missionaries and others. Digitized assets include periodicals, correspondence, board minutes, and annual reports, and are available for viewing on this site.
Southern Baptist Historical Library and Archives The Southern Baptist Historical Library and Archives is a worldwide center for the study of Baptist history. Governed by the Council of Seminary Presidents, the SBHLA is one of the major denominational collections in the nation and serves, by assignment of the Southern Baptist Convention, as the central depository and archives of SBC records.
Unitarian Universalist Association (Harvard Divinity School Library) As the official repository for the Unitarian Universalist Association, the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee, and Beacon Press, the collections are particularly strong in the Unitarian Universalist (UU) tradition, and also include UU ministers' papers and the records of UU affiliated groups.
United Church of Canada Archives Includes the General Council Archives and the following Ontario Regional Councils: Canadian Shield, Antler River Watershed, Western Ontario Waterways, Horseshoe Falls, Shining Waters, East Central Ontario, and the western part of Eastern Ontario Outaouais.
United Church of Christ Archives Collects, preserves, and provides access to the records of the UCC from around the time of the creating Union in 1957 onward.
United Methodist Church, General Commission on Archives and History The official archives of the United Methodist Church.
Yale Divinity Library Special Collections

Description

The archival collections listed here are mostly related to specific denominations based in the United States, while others are more general archives that focus on a specific aspect of American Christianity and missions.

Missions and World Christianity: North America/USA

North America

Description

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries