It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full-text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It includes the more than 28,000 Yale PhD and MD theses (1861-present). Of these, more than 18,500 are in full-text: almost all since 1960, and selected dissertations back to 1868. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
It can be easier to locate a known dissertation by author and title using Articles+ (which searches against ProQuest Dissertations & Theses) and limiting to dissertations. The link above has already been limited to dissertations.
Search for dissertations in Quicksearch:
The Music Library has purchased many copies of dissertations from other universities. Most Yale dissertations that are not full-text in ProQuest (above) are available in paper or microfilm for reading, scanning, or printing.
Dissertations can be located in Quicksearch by: (1) Entering the author or title in the Basic Search box. Remember to enclose exact word-by-word phrases in quotation marks.
(2) Using the Quicksearch Books+ Advanced Search:
To browse all dissertations & theses, leave the search rows empty, enter All fields: music, or enter your search terms in the search boxes
Limit by Format: Dissertation & Theses
Limit by Location: Music Library (optional)
Click See More under the Subject facets (on the left), to browse the subject headings and refine your search
(a) The example below shows a blank search limited to Dissertations & Theses format and Music Library location: 2,727 results.
(b) The example belos shows a search for All fields: music, limited to Format: Dissertations & Theses. Results = 4,217
3) If you do not locate a Yale dissertation in Quicksearch, check the card catalog at Manuscripts and Archives. Except for some early dissertations that are not available, the originals of all Yale dissertations are held at Manuscripts and Archives.
If you find a dissertation that you need, but there is not a full text link, there are several options: search for it at Yale, borrow a copy through Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan (ILL), or request that the library purchase a copy. You may also purchase a copy in various formats.
Citing Electronic Resources
There are three major citation styles used in the humanities, social sciences, and some scientific disciplines. Consult one of the following official style manuals :
Website with updates and tips for the Modern Language Association's 8th edition of the MLA Handbook (see entry below). Includes a Quick Guide to works cited, an FAQ, and posts on topics such as URLs and citing ebooks.
A guide to locating, translating, and using the elements of citation for both a humanities style (i.e., MLA and Chicago) and a scientific style (APA and CBE) for electronically-accessed sources. Access is available to the Yale Community.
Often preferred in history and many other disciplines.