Click on titlle to see disc and track listings.

Click on title to see disc and track listings

Accompanies A history of western music by Grout and Palisca, 5th ed., and Norton anthology of western music, 3rd ed., ed. Palisca.
The complete anthology contains performances of 152 works (30 new to this edition); this volume contains NAWM 1--NAWM 86. The score anthology has internal track numbers (also given on the discs' containers), for purposes of analysis.
Performers listed on each disc's container.

Click on title to see disc and track listings

Accompanies A history of western music by Grout and Palisca, 6th ed., and Norton anthology of western music, 4th ed., ed. Palisca, both published by W.W. Norton & Company, Inc.
The score anthology has internal track numbers (also given on the discs) for purposes of analysis.

Click on link to see disc and track contents

Revised and enlivened commentaries closely examine the scores to clarify their historical significance.

Accompanies A history of western music by Burkholder, Grout & Palisca, 7th ed., and Norton anthology of western music, 5th ed., ed. Burkholder & Palisca, both published by W. W. Norton & Company, Inc.
The score anthology has internal track numbers (also given on the discs) for purposes of analysis.

Click on title to see disc and track contents

Highlights of the repertoire include new works from all periods: more contrasting virelais, ballades, and other chansons from the fourteenth through the sixteenth centuries; large-scale choral works, including Gabrieli's In ecclesiis, Lully's Te Deum, Haydn's Creation, and Prokofiev's Alexander Nevsky; more opera, including Norma, Les Huguenots, and Madama Butterfly; orchestral and chamber works by Schubert, Schumann, Brahms, Dvor#65533;k, and Tchaikovsky; and new twentieth-century works by Satie, Bart#65533;k, Milhaud, Prokofiev, Varese, Hindemith, Cowell, Cage, Feldman, Stockhausen, Boulez, Berio, Reich, Adams, Ligeti, Schnittke, and Michael Daugherty.

Accompanies A history of western music by Burkholder, Grout & Palisca, 8th ed., and Norton anthology of western music, 6th ed., ed. Burkholder & Palisca, both published by W. W. Norton & Company, Inc.
The score anthology has internal track numbers (also given on the discs) for purposes of analysis.

Click on link to see disc and track contents

Click on link to see disc and track contents.

Not on POR shelf - shelved with CDRM.
Recordings designed and coordinated for use with Norton anthology of western music, 7th ed., ed. by Burkholder & Palisca.
Each disc includes a PDF document listing tracks & musical contents.
V. 1 : Ancient to Baroque
V. 2 : Classic to romantic
V. 3 : The Twentieth century and after.

Nearly six thousand entries and articles define musical terms, describe instruments, and discuss musical forms, concepts, and theory. See also copies in Bass & LSF http://search.library.yale.edu/catalog/447381

Also a copy in Reference, ML100 A641 2003
"Fourth edition proceeds rather directly from New Harvard dictionary of music"--Pref.

Oliver Strunk's monumental anthology of writings about music: a comprehensive picture of Western musical thought and ideas through the ages.

Illuminates, through a representative sampling of masterworks, those themes, styles, and currents that give shape and direction to each musical age. Taruskin sets the details of music, the chronological sweep of figures, works, and musical ideas, within the larger context of world affairs and cultural history. The sixth volume provides a comprehensive chronology, further reading and other source material, and an index to the entire set.

Lacks some of the features of vol. 6 (print copy) New introductions and prefaces added to each volume. Includes links to relevant articles in Grove Music Online.

A one-volume edition introduces students to the broad sweep of music history by making connections between music and the larger human, social, and political context in which pieces were created and heard. Includes timelines, chapter summaries, key terms, study questions, and a glossary.

For recordings, see Norton Recorded Anthology of Western Music, 2010
Building on his monumental revision of the Seventh Edition, Peter Burkholder has refined an inspired narrative for a new generation of students, placing people at the center of the story. The narrative of A History of Western Music naturally focuses on the musical works, styles, genres, and ideas that have proven most influential, enduring, and significant--but it also encompasses a wide range of music, from religious to secular, from serious to humorous, from art music to popular music, and from Europe to the Americas. With a six-part structure emphasizing the music's reception and continued influence, Burkholder's narrative establishes a social and historical context for each repertoire to reveal its legacy and its significance today.

Yale School of Music

3 manuals

supplants the print directories; access limited by licensing agreement

Notes: older eds. shelved at LSF; latest ed. on reserve at Circ. desk

2013 Composer of the year: David Lang
Musician of the Year: Gustavo Dudamel (on cover)
Older eds at LSF

This publication of the 371 has been entirely revised, corrected, edited, and annotated by Albert Riemenschneider.

2 cassettes: Recordings Collection, Cas MT6 D166 F7 cas.1-2

[paged from LSF to be added to Special Theory Reserve]
CD-ROM housed at Circulation Desk (Call number: CDRM 71-72)
The fundamental concepts of music theory. with many activities in this book and the accompanying CD-ROM. Part One: intervals, scales, and triads. In Part Two: chords and chord progressions. The Second Edition now includes optional Enhancement sections that offer such additional pitch topics as chromaticism, transposition, and harmonizing melodies.

A reader-friendly, creative text that focuses on music fundamentals through written and aural exercises. In addition, the text strives to teach students how to create music through learning rhythm, melody, scales, intervals, and triads.

Examples and exercises are included on the DVDs in downloadable MP3 format. 2 CDs housed in Recordings Collection
Bringing together the analytical, aural, and tactile activities that comprise a tonal theory curriculum, The Complete Musician, Second Edition, relies on a diverse repertoire and innovative exercises to explicitly connect theory (writing and analysis), skills (singing, playing, and dictation),and music-making outside the theory class. Enhanced and supplemented by five music DVDs--two packaged with the text, two with Student Workbook I, and one with Student Workbook II. Examples and exercises are included on the DVDs in downloadable MP3 format. 2 CDs housed in Recordings Collection

For undergraduate/graduate-level courses in Twentieth-Century Techniques, and Post-Tonal Theory and Analysis taken by music majors. A primer-rather than a survey-this text offers exceptionally clear, simple explanations of basic theoretical concepts for the post-tonal music of the twentieth century. Emphasizing hands-on contact with the music-through playing, singing, listening, and analyzing-it provides six chapters on theory, each illustrated with musical examples and fully worked-out analyses, all drawn largely from the "classical" pre-war repertoire by Schoenberg, Stravinsky, Bartok, Berg, and Webern.

Now published by Norton, Introduction to Post-Tonal Theory has been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest developments in the field, with additional coverage of transformational theory and voice leading. The Fourth Edition helps students identify key theoretical points and guides them through the process of analysis, while also offering new recently composed musical examples.

A comprehensive volume spanning the entire theory course, HARMONY AND VOICE LEADING begins with coverage of basic concepts of theory and harmony, and moves into coverage of advanced dissonance and chromaticism. It emphasizes the linear aspects of music as much as the harmonic, and introduces large-scale progressions--linear and harmonic--at an early stage.

This 2-CD set contains performances of the excerpts from the literature in the text.

A clear and comprehensive volume spanning the entire theory course, HARMONY AND VOICE LEADING, Fourth Edition, begins with coverage of basic concepts of theory and harmony and moves into coverage of advanced dissonance and chromaticism. It emphasizes the linear aspects of music as much as the harmonic, and introduces large-scale progressions--linear and harmonic--at an early stage. The fourth edition now includes a chapter introducing species counterpoint and integrates that material into the rest of the text. A new Premium Website for students will provide interactive, guided exercises for new material covered in each unit. The Instructor's Companion Site will include Guidelines for Instructors, a new instructor's manual written by the authors.

A generous assortment of excerpts from the literature for assignments in analysis. Volume II corresponds with the second half of the text.

v. 3a in Music Library Stacks

For over 150 years the concept of "sonata form" lay at the heart of European instrumental music. Now, in Elements of Sonata Theory, musicologist James Hepokoski and music theorist Warren Darcy rethink its basic principles. Considering not only sonatas but also chamber music, symphonies,overtures, and concertos, their study outlines a new, updated paradigm for understanding the compositional choices present in the instrumental works of Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, and their contemporaries.The product of over a dozen years of research, Elements of Sonata Theory is the most thorough study of the sonata ever undertaken. It serves as a challenge both to students and to experienced musicologists and music theorists to rethink how sonata form is best understood.