It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
Welcome to the Music Research Subject Guide. In this guide, you'll find:
Information about our collections to help you with your research and study
Tips on searching for music scores (notated music), recordings, books, articles, and more
Recommended online resources with streaming audio & video, scores, articles, and information about music, that you can access 24/7
Important resources for starting your search that are not yet available online
Special collections pertaining to music: the Music Library Special Collections (archives, manuscripts and rare editions), Historical Sound Recordings, Oral History of American Music, and other collections
Search across many databases of streaming audio, video and scores, including American Music, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound and Popular Music Library.
Collection of full-text resources on music and music-related subjects (ethnomusicology, theory, instruments, pedagogy, performance, dance, etcetera). Includes coverage from international journals, audio recordings, bibliographies, conference proceedings, dissertations, electronic resources, Festschriften, essays, film & video, monographs, reviews, and other types of resources, dating from the late 18th century to the present.