Most comprehensive source for international scholarly literature on music with abstracts and detailed article-level indexing. RILM is a collection of full-text resources on music and music-related subjects (ethnomusicology, theory, instruments, pedagogy, performance, dance, etcetera). Includes coverage from international journals, audio recordings, bibliographies, conference proceedings, dissertations, electronic resources, Festschriften, essays, film & video, monographs, reviews, and other types of resources, dating from the late 18th century to the present.

Music journals in JSTOR include full-text for 78 scholarly music periodicals that are core to the profession.

Best source for popular music as well as performance magazines (Strings, Strad, Opera News, International Piano and many others). Contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts from 1970 to the present for every aspect of the classical and popular world of music including musicological and organological topics, as well as book reviews, record reviews, first performances, interviews, and obituaries from music periodicals from over many countries.

Formerly known as International index to music periodicals (IIMP). This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from many countries, plus full text for over a hundred indexed journals. The majority of the records in the database are from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with title, though not subject, indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes almost a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more. Coverage: 1864 - current

A unique collection of out-of-print jazz journals of recognized historical importance. Includes a searchable collection of 105 American full-text jazz journals and magazines.

RIPM (Retrospective index to music periodicals / Annotated series) provides annotated indexes to the content of runs of music journals with a focus on the period from 1800 to 1950. The indexes contain links to the online archive, where users can view annotated calendars and browse journals. RIPM also includes a Preservation Series of European and North American Music Periodicals. This series does not include annotated indexing, but can be searched across the full-text of the articles

An online archive of music journalism sourced from freelance contributions to the music and mainstream press from the 1950s to the present day. It contains over 25,000 articles, interviews, features, and reviews from magazines like Creem, Rolling Stone, Village Voice, Rock Scene, among many others. In addition, it includes 400 audio interviews with rock and roll artists. Please be aware that the content in this database is curated and that the periodicals do not contain full runs.

Articles+ is part of Quicksearch and Includes full-text from JSTOR, ProQuest databases, dissertations, eBooks, streaming audio and video, and more. May also be searched through Quicksearch.

This style is the most widely used for music scholarship. With state-of-the-art recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices in the digital age, The Chicago Manual of Style is the must-have reference for everyone who works with words.

The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences.

Website with updates and tips for the Modern Language Association's 8th edition of the MLA Handbook (see entry below). Includes a Quick Guide to works cited, an FAQ, and posts on topics such as URLs and citing ebooks.

A guide to locating, translating, and using the elements of citation for both a humanities style (i.e., MLA and Chicago) and a scientific style (APA and CBE) for electronically-accessed sources. Access is available to the Yale Community.
Often preferred in history and many other disciplines.