The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture (Online) by
This encyclopedia covers all aspects of Islamic art and architecture from the Middle East and Africa to Central and South East Asia. The A-Z entries cover every subject area and theme including artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture painting, calligraphy, and textiles.
Historical Dictionary of Islam (Online) by
This third edition of Historical Dictionary of Islam contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on major sects, schools of theology, and jurisprudence, as well as aspects of Islamic culture.
The Islamic World: Past and Present by
Divided into three volumes in alphabetical order: v. 1. Abba-Hist -- v. 2. Hizb-Otto -- v. 3. Pak-Zayn.
The Oxford History of Islam by
The book covers a wide array of subjects, casting light on topics such as the historical encounter of Islam and Christianity, the role of Islam in the Mughal and Ottoman empires, the growth of Islam in Southeast Asia, China, and Africa, the political, economic, and religious challenges of European imperialism in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, and Islamic communities in the modern Western world. In addition, the book offers excellent articles on Islamic religion, art and architecture, and sciences as well as bibliographies. This edition includes updates made in 2015.
The Routledge Handbook of Muslim-Jewish Relations by
The Routledge Handbook of Muslim-Jewish Relations invites readers to deepen their understanding of the historical, social, cultural, and political themes that impact modern-day perceptions of interfaith dialogue. The volume is designed to illuminate positive encounters between Muslims and Jews, as well as points of conflict, within a historical framework.
Makers of Contemporary Islam by
By examining the lives and work of nine such internationally recognized figures, Esposito and Voll provide a new understanding of the intellectual foundations of contemporary Islamic awareness and politics.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women (Online) by
Organized around the central conceptual themes in research on Islam and women including Self and Body, Immigration and Minorities, Culture and Expression, Politics and Polity, and Community and Society, as well as Science, Medicine and Education among others, this work examines the scholarship on Islam and women that has expanded exponentially over the past twenty years, as well as cross-pollination between other fields and disciplines.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Science, and Technology in Islam by
Includes complete coverage of Islamic philosophy, sciences, and technologies from the classical to the contemporary period. Containing scholarly overviews of the thinkers, movements, instruments, theories, institutions, processes, events, and historical developments related to Islamic classical history and the contemporary quest for knowledge, this encyclopaedia provides scholars and advanced students with in-depth surveys on the most important issues in the study of these topics.
The Oxford Handbook of American Islam by
This handbook covers the growth of Islam in America from the earliest Muslims to set foot on American soil to the current wave of Islamophobia. Topics covered include the development of African American Islam; pre- and post-WWII immigrants; Sunni, Shi`ite, sectarian and Sufi movements in America; the role and status of women, marriage, and family; and the Americanization of Islamic culture. Throughout these chapters the contributors explore the meaning of religious identity in the context of race, ethnicity, gender, and politics, both within the American Islamic community and in relation to international Islam.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved