Yale University Library Research Guides: Religious Studies: Getting Started: Intro to NT

Relevant Research Guides

The Cambridge Companion to the New Testament (Online) by Patrick Gray (Editor) This Companion volume offers a concise and engaging introduction to the New Testament. Including twenty-two especially-commissioned essays, written by an international team of scholars, it examines a range of topics related to the historical and religious contexts in which the contents of the Christian canon emerged.
An Introduction to the New Testament by Raymond E. Brown Standard textbook used in YDS’ New Testament Interpretation (NTI) course. Less historical focus than Ehrman. Primarily concerned with internal thematic, organizational, and theological consistency of NT books. Online available.
The New Cambridge History of the Bible (4 vols.) by Euan Cameron (Editor) 4 volume that chart the Bible's progress from beginning to the present. Each volume focuses on a particular era. Volume 1: From the beginnings to 600. Volume 2: From 600 to 1450. Volume 3: From 1450 to 1750. Volume 4: From 1750 to the present.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by Michael D. Coogan (Editor) This work provides an overview of each book of the Bible. Each article is followed by a comprehensive, up-to-date bibliography.
Call Number: DIVINITY, Trowbridge Reference Room, BS440 .O93X 2011

Oxford Bibliographies: Biblical Studies Includes nearly 300 entries in biblical studies, including specific individuals (e.g., Aaron), locations (e.g. Alexandria, books (e.g., Acts of the Apostles), and other topics in relation to specific books.
Oxford Encyclopedias of the Bible: Digital Collection A major reference work, consisting of comprehensive essays on biblical studies. The Digital Collection represents an online expansion of the project, featuring articles previously published on Oxford Biblical Studies Online, now exclusive on Oxford Reference. With bibliographic references and suggestions for further reading, each entry provides a thorough overview of the topic and serves as an entrance point to further research for both seasoned scholars and beginning students.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Biblical Studies Includes 26 entries, mostly on the Hebrew Bible.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
New Testament Abstracts
Religious and Theological Abstracts
T&T Clark Jesus Library A database that offers students and scholars of religion and biblical studies core resources for studying the life of Jesus and his impact in history and culture. The resource contains a brand new reference work on the Reception of Jesus in the First Three Centuries as well as topical articles commissioned exclusively for the resource, written by leading academics.
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries Online (Theology & Religion Online) Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries span over 89 volumes and is one of the most trusted and long-running scholarly commentaries series for Biblical Studies scholars. Now accessible online as part of the Theology and Religion Online database.
Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary Online (Theology & Religion Online) Explore the full A-Z list of articles from the Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary.