Yale University Library Research Guides: Religious Studies: Getting Started: Islam

Welcome

This section introduces reference works, including research encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and companions on Islam. Use the drop-down menu for further information on the Qur'an, Islamic history, Islamic law & theology, and Islam and politics.

Relevant Research Guides

African American Religious History: Black Muslims

American Religious History: Islam

Near East Collection: Getting Started

South Asian Studies: Islam

Introduction to Islam

The Oxford Dictionary of Islam by John L. Esposito (Editor) Designed for general readers with little or no knowledge of Islam, this dictionary provides more than 2000 vivid entries organized in an easy-to-use, A-Z format. Entries cover major political movements, landmarks and events, and include terms from Islamic law and biographical profiles.
Makers of Contemporary Islam by John L. Esposito; John Voll By examining the lives and work of nine such internationally recognized figures, Esposito and Voll provide a new understanding of the intellectual foundations of contemporary Islamic awareness and politics.

Bibliographies and Databases

Christian-Muslim Relations: A Bibliographical History (Online) A general online history of relations between the faiths from the seventh century to the present.
Encyclopaedia Islamica Online (Brill) A projected 16-volume publication, consisting of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. One unique feature of this work of reference lies in the attention it gives to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage, which makes it complementary to other encyclopedias. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, it offers the Western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shiʿi Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilization, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition.
Encylopedia of Islam (Brill Online), 2nd edition The encyclopaedia of Islam (second edition) sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic world. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures Online (Brlil) An interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project embracing women and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. It aims to cover every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.
Oxford Bibliographies: Islamic Studies Includes over 250 entries covering specific individuals, topics in Islamic theology and philosophy, the Quran, movements, and other Islamic literature.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion: Islam Includes over 250 entries, with some articles focusing on Islam in specific countries, movements in Islam, and history of Islam. Other articles focus on Islam in relation to other religions.
Qurʼānic Studies Online (Brill) Includes: the Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online, Early Western Korans Online, Qurʾān Concordance, Dictionary of Qurʾānic Usage, Encyclopedia of Canonical Ḥadīth Online, and the Concordance et indices de la Tradition Musulmane Online.

Religious Studies: Getting Started: Islam

Welcome

Relevant Research Guides

Introduction to Islam

Bibliographies and Databases

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries