Yale University Library Research Guides: Religious Studies: Getting Started: Judaism

Welcome

This section introduces reference works, including research encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and companions on Judaism and Jewish studies more broadly. Use the drop-down menu for further information.

Relevant Research Guides

Dead Sea Scrolls

Hebrew Bible Interpretation

Hellenistic Judaism

History of the Bible & the Book

Research in Jewish Studies

Introduction to Judaism

The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies by Martin Goodman exhaustive survey of current interests and directions in the field.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion (Online) by Adele Berlin (Editor-In-Chief); Maxine Grossman (Editor-In-Chief) Focuses on recent and changing rituals in the Jewish community that have come to the fore since the 1997 publication of the First Edition, including the growing trend of baby-naming ceremonies and the founding of gay/lesbian synagogues
Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture (Online) by Judith R. Baskin (Editor) Seeks to define the spiritual and intellectual concepts and religious movements that distinguish Judaism and the Jewish experience; discusses central personalities and places, formative events and enduring literary and cultural contributions and they illuminate the lives of ordinary Jewish men and women.
JPS Guide to Jewish Traditions (Online) by Ronald L. Eisenberg A comprehensive and authoritative resource with ready answers to questions about almost all aspects of Jewish life and practice: life-cycle events, holidays, ritual and prayer, Jewish traditions and customs, and more.

Online Tools

Oxford Bibliographies: Biblical Studies Includes nearly 300 entries in biblical studies, including specific individuals (e.g., Aaron), locations (e.g. Alexandria, books (e.g., Acts of the Apostles), and other topics in relation to specific books.
Oxford Bibliographies: Jewish Studies Includes nearly 250 entries covering specific individuals, movements, Jewish literature, and Judaism in specific locations.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion: Judaism Includes over 160 entries on Judaism. Some of the articles focus specifically on Jewish scriptures and history, while others discuss Judaism in relation to other religions, society and culture.
The Judaica Collection at Yale University Library An introductory guide to conducting research in Judaic studies at Yale University. It includes information about Yale Library collections, Internet resources and other material. The focus of the library's 95,000 volume collection, which includes manuscripts and rare books, is biblical, classical, medieval, and modern periods of Jewish literature and history.

Religious Studies: Getting Started: Judaism

Welcome

Relevant Research Guides

Introduction to Judaism

Online Tools

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries