The Cambridge Companion to Religious Studies by
Takes up some of the most pressing theoretical questions in the field. What is a 'religious tradition'? How are religious texts read? What takes place when a religious practitioner stands before a representation of gods or goddesses, ghosts, ancestors, saints, and other special beings? What roles is religion playing in contemporary global society? The volume emphasizes religion as a lived practice, stressing that people have used and continue to use religious media to engage the circumstances of their lives.
Cultural Approaches to Studying Religion: An Introduction to Theories and Methods by
Examining the analytic tools of scholars in religious studies, as well as in related disciplines that have shaped the field, this updated textbook includes cultural approaches from anthropology, history, literature, and critical studies in race, sexuality, and gender.
The Blackwell Companion to Religious Ethics (Online) by
Maps the moral teachings of the world's religions, and also charts new directions for work in the field of religious ethics.
The Religion and Theology Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide by
The Religion Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide, is a set of instructions and exercises that sequentially develop citizenship, academic, and professional skills while providing students with knowledge about a wide range of religious concepts, phenomena, and information sources.
The Encyclopedia of World Religions by
In about 600 entries - with 115 new to this edition - this revised edition covers all the major and minor religions of the world, including the religions of the ancient world; the major religions practiced around the world today; religions of contemporary indigenous peoples; definitions of religious symbols and ideas; key leaders and thinkers; and terms and definitions.
Introducing Religion: Religious Studies for the Twenty-First Century by
Introducing Religion explores different ways of looking at religion in the twenty-first century. Providing a broad overview to the discipline of religious studies, this textbook introduces students to engaging and contemporary topics such as: sociology of religion, psychology of religion, history of religion, religion and art, religious ethics, popular religion, and religion and violence.
The Oxford Handbook of Global Religions by
This is a reference for understanding world religious societies in their contemporary global diversity. Comprising 60 essays, the volume focuses on communities rather than beliefs, symbols, or rites. It is organized into six sections corresponding to the major living religious traditions: the Indic cultural region, the Buddhist/Confucian, the Jewish, Christian, and Muslim regions, and the African cultural region.
The Oxford Handbook of the Sociology of Religion by
Provides an entry point into the sociological study and understanding of religion and an in-depth survey into its changing forms and content in the contemporary world. The role and impact of religion and spirituality on the politics, culture, education and health in the modern world is rigorously discussed and debated.
The Thing about Religion: An Introduction to the Material Study of Religions (Online) by
This concise primer shows readers how to study what has come to be termed material religion--the ways religious meaning is enacted in the material world.
The Blackwell Companion to the Study of Religion (Online) by
Provides an interdisciplinary and authoritative guide to the subject. Examines the main approaches to the study of religion: anthropology, the comparative method, economics, literature, philosophy, psychology, sociology, and theology. Also covers a diverse range of topical issues, such as the body, fundamentalism, magic, and new religious movements.
Introduction to the Study of Religion by
This thoroughly updated second edition provides an engaging introduction to the discipline of religious studies. Summary boxes, discussion questions, a glossary, a chronology of key figures and texts and other pedagogic aids help students grasp key concepts.
Introduction to the Study of Religion (2nd ed.) by
This introductory text helps students think through the basic questions that arise in the study of religion. What is the nature of religious experience? How does religion shape the actions of individuals and communities? How does religion promote or inhibit human development and well-being? This 2nd edition has been updated throughout, including new examples, new themes such as religious fundamentalism and violence, and a new emphasis on environmental issues.
The Oxford Handbook of the Study of Religion by
Provides a comprehensive overview of the academic study of religions. The first section addresses five major conceptual aspects of research on religion. Part two surveys eleven main frameworks of analysis, interpretation, and explanation of religion. Part three considers eight forms of the expression of religion. Part four provides a discussion of the ways societies and religions, or religious organizations, are shaped by different forms of allocation of resources (i.e., economy).
The Routledge Companion to the Study of Religion by
Begins by explaining the most important methodological approaches to religion, including psychology, philosophy, anthropology and comparative study, before moving on to explore a wide variety of critical issues, such as gender, science, fundamentalism, ritual, and new religious movements.
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to the Study of Religion (Online) by
Presupposing no knowledge of the approaches examined in the collection, the book is ideal for undergraduate students who have yet to undertake extensive study in the humanities or social sciences. The book includes perspectives from those in fields as diverse as globalization, cognitive science, the study of emotion, law, esotericism, sex and gender, functionalism, terror, the comparative method, modernism, and postmodernism.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved