The Cambridge Companion to Classical Islamic Theology by
This series of critical reflections on the evolution and major themes of pre-modern Muslim theology begins with the revelation of the Koran, and extends to the beginnings of modernity in the eighteenth century. Throughout the treatment is firmly set in the historical, social and political context in which Islam's distinctive understanding of God evolved.
The Oxford Handbook of Islamic Law by
This volume provides a comprehensive survey of the contemporary study of Islamic law and a critical analysis of its deficiencies.
The Oxford Handbook of Islamic Theology by
Part One covers the various strands of Islamic theology during the formative and early middle periods, rational as well as scripturalist. Part Two offers a number of case studies, focusing on specific theological issues. Part Three covers Islamic theology during the later middle and early modern periods. Part Four addresses the impact of political and social developments on theology through a number of case studies. Part Five considers Islamic theological thought from the end of the early modern and during the modern period.
Routledge Handbook of Islamic Law by
This handbook is a detailed reference source comprising original articles covering the origins, history, theory and practice of Islamic law. The handbook covers a broad range of issues, including the role of ethics in Islamic jurisprudence, the mechanics and processes of interpretation, the purposes and objectives of Islamic law, constitutional law and secularism, gender, bioethics, Muslim minorities in the West, jihad and terrorism.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved