Buddhism: Introducing the Buddhist Experience by
Focuses on the depth of Buddhist experiences as expressed in the teachings and practices of its religious and philosophical traditions. Taking a more global and inclusive approach than any other introductory text, the book spans more than 2,500 years, offering chapters on Buddhism's origins in India; Theravada and Mahayana Buddhism; Buddhism in Southeast Asia, Tibet, China, Korea, and Japan; and the globalization of Buddhism with a focus on the United States.
Defining Buddhism(s): A Reader (Online) by
The reader brings together key essays by leading scholars to examine the central methods and concerns of Buddhism. The essays aim to illuminate the challenges involved in defining historical, social, and political contexts and reveal how definitions of Buddhism have always been contested.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by
Reflects the current state of scholarship in Buddhist Studies, its entries being written by specialists in many areas, presenting an overview of Buddhist history, thought and practices.
The Oxford Handbook of Buddhist Ethics by
This volume provides a comprehensive overview of the field of Buddhist ethics in the twenty-first century.
The Oxford Handbook of Buddhist Practice by
The essays within The Oxford Handbook of Buddhist Practice push beyond traditional representations of Buddhism as divided into static schools and traditions, highlighting instead the contested and negotiated character of individual and group identities.
The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism by
The essays in the first section examine the historical development of Buddhist traditions throughout the world. These chapters cover familiar settings like India, Japan, and Tibet as well as the less well-known countries of Vietnam, Bhutan, and the regions of Latin America, Africa, and Oceania. Focusing on changes within countries and transnationally, this section also contains chapters that focus explicitly on globalization, such as Buddhist international organizations and diasporic communities. The second section tracks the relationship between Buddhist traditions and particular themes. These chapters review Buddhist interactions with contemporary topics such as violence and peacebuilding, and ecology, as well as Buddhist influences in areas such as medicine and science.
The Routledge Handbook of Indian Buddhist Philosophy by
The Routledge Handbook of Indian Buddhist Philosophy is the first scholarly reference volume to highlight the diversity and individuality of a large number of the most influential philosophers to have contributed to the evolution of Buddhist thought in India.
The Routledge Handbook of Buddhist-Christian Studies by
This volume begins by setting up a framework for examining the nature of Buddhist-Christian interreligious dialogue, discussing how research in this area has been conducted in the past and considering future theoretical directions.
A Dictionary of Buddhism (Online) by
Covers both historical and contemporary issues in Buddhism, and includes all Buddhist schools and cultures. Over 2,000 broad-ranging entries cover beliefs, doctrines, major teachers and scholars, place names, and artefacts.
Historical Dictionary of Buddhism by
Contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has more than 900 cross-referenced entries on important personalities as well as complex theological concepts, significant practices, and basic writings and texts.
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism by
A comprehensive dictionary of Buddhism that includes over 5,000 entries. Covers terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions: Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved