Image ResearchBritish India - Art & EmpirePre RaphaelitesArt & ScienceAuction ResearchProvenance
Great Exhibitions: HSAR 447Pre-Raphaelites, Aesthetes, SocialistsVisual Cultures of British IndiaWords & Images in Victorian Britian, HSAR445Art and Music in BritainSculpture: Matter, Process, Object, HSAR 577Art & War in Britain HSAR 442
Paintings & SculpturePrints & DrawingsRare Books & Manuscripts
This is the "Home" page of the "History of British Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: May 30, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/brithistoryofart Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Acquisitions

Cover Art
Modern British sculpture - edited by Penelope Curtis and Keith Wilson
Call Number: NB468 .M63 2011
ISBN: 9781905711727

Cover Art
poetics and politics of place : Ottoman Istanbul and British Orientalism - edited by Zeynep Inankur
Call Number: ND1460.E95 P647 2011 +Oversize
ISBN: 9780295991108

Cover Art
Thomas Lawrence: Regency Power and Brilliance - A. Cassandra Albinson
Call Number: NJ18.L42 T56 2010
ISBN: 0300167180

 

History of British Art

What this is

This page is intended to guide users through the resources needed to study British history of art. The tabs at the top of this guide help to navigate the primary and secondary sources essential to the study of British history of art. There are also tabs that pertain to specific topics such as: image research, art and empire, the Pre-Raphaelites; as well as essential resources for specific Yale courses: Art and Music in Britain, Visual Cultures of British India, etc.

The Yale Center for British Art, which holds the richest collection of British art outside the United Kingdom, is a unique font of primary and secondary resource information and this guide includes specific tabs devoted to accessing and researching the collections of the Center.

Who we are

Kraig Binkowski
Chief Librarian, Reference Library and Archives

Beth Morris
Assistant Librarian, Reference Library and Archives

The Reference Library and Archives are located on the second floor of the Center, 1080 Chapel Street. We are open to the public and an appointment is not needed to use the collections. The Library is non-circulating and holds materials in a variety of formats supporting the study of British art and culture, with a focus on British art of the 17th century to the present and is ideally positioned to facilitate research in British history of art.


The Reference Collections are now accessible alongside the art collections of the Center. From the Center's newly designed website, the all collection search function brings relevant reference materials together with works of art from the collection. 


Additionally, the entire holdings of the Reference Library are represented in Orbis, Yale's online catalogue. In this manner, the Reference Library collections can be accessed in relation to the wide breadth of all the library collections at Yale.


Hello!

Profile Image
Yale Center for British Art YCBA
Contact Info
Reference Library and Archives
1080 Chapel Street
(203) 432-2818
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip