Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of British Art: Image Research

YCBA images



Vanessa Bell, Self-portrait
c. 1915. Oil on canvas.
Yale Center for
British Art,
Paul Mellon Fund

ARTstor RSS feed

Loading ...

Image Research in British Art

The resources listed below are for finding images pertaining to British art, architecture, and culture. For broader coverage see the Digital Resources Collection Subject Guide.
 
Yale Center for British Art Collections Search - Online searchable database of the Center's paintings, sculpture, Drawings, prints, rare books, and reference collection.
 
Yale Visual Resources Collection - Vast digital image collection that supports the arts, humanities, and visual culture studies. Also see their Metagallery.
 
ARTstor  - One million-plus images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present and organize images. Includes most of the Yale Visual Resources Collection as well as items from the Victoria and Albert Museum, the British Library, examples of British stained glass, and architectural photographs.
 
YCBA Photo Archive - Contains over 200,000 black and white photographs of British art worldwide, with a focus on collections in the United States, Canada, and Australia. The photographs are shelved in two sections: cataloged and uncataloged. In both cases, the photographs are shelved alphabetically by artist's last name. A database containing textual descriptions of the images is available in the Reference Library and can be searched by artist, title, owner, year, date, and subject. Ask at the reference desk for help.

Witt Index of the Courtauld Institute - Fiche B33; B32
A microform collection of approx. 300,000 British school photographs in the Witt Library. Located in the YCBA Library’s reference section.


The Lewis Walpole Library Digital Collection - The Digital Collection features English caricatures and political satirical prints from the late-seventeenth through the mid-nineteenth centuries including works by Bunbury, Woodward, Gillray, Rowlandson, and Newton, among others. The Digital Collection has expanded to encompass prints, drawings, and watercolors related to Horace Walpole's collection and house at Strawberry Hill. Material is added to the Digital Collection regularly.

British Museum Collection Database - Over one-million objects from around the world:
Africa; the Americas; central, east, south and southeast Asia, including the Sir Percival David Collection of Chinese ceramics; ancient Egypt and Sudan; Europe; ancient Greece and Rome; the Middle East; Oceania; prehistory.

Victoria and Albert Museum - Over 56,000 works from the V&A's collections.

 

Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) - 100,000 copyright free images of fine and decorative art from collections around the UK. 

Courtauld Institute of Art: Art and Architecture - A collection of more than 40,000 images, mostly black and white, drawn from resources at the Courtauld Institute, University of London.
 

British Library Images Online - Provides access to the British Library's greatest images from their vast collections with the option to license hi-res images for commercial purposes.  Images for educational use are available at 500 pixels (about a half of a projector screen resolution).

British Printed Images to 1700 - Thousands of prints and illustrations from early modern Britain. This database also includes relevant sources that contextualize the visual materials.

Illustrated London News Picture Library - (Mary Evans Picture Library):
In addition to historical images from the ILN, this commercial archive also consists of images from eight other titles: The Graphic, The Sphere, The Sketch, The Bystander, The Tatler, The Illustrated Sporting and Dramatic News, The Illustrated War News and Britannia and Eve.

Bridgeman Art, Culture, and History Images: Commercial image site with over 8,000 Collections and 29,000 artists.
 

 

Related Subject Guides

Hello!

Yale Center for British Art YCBA's picture
Yale Center for British Art YCBA
Contact:
Reference Library and Archives

1080 Chapel Street

(203) 432-2818
Website