Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of British Art: Pre-Raphaelites, Aesthetes, Socialists

Books @ the YCBA

Pre-Raphaelites, Aesthetes, Socialists - Additional Resources

This page supplements the syllabus for Professor Tim Barringer's seminar Pre-Raphaelites, Aesthetes, Socialists. The YCBA Reference Library has nearly all primary and secondary publications pertaining to the Pre-Raphaelites. As Prof. Barringer mentions in his syllabus, "If in doubt, go to the BAC." In addition to the printed materials, there are a number of online sources that can aid you in your Pre-Raphaelite studies.

Online Sources


Times Digital Archive

Full-text access to the Times of London from 1785-1985. Original pages are scanned, enabling closer examinaiton of layout and design, in addition to article contents.

Index to theses accepted for higher degrees in the universities of Great Britain and Ireland

A full index of theses and dissertations produced at British & Irish Universities from 1716-present, with abstracts available from 1970 onward. Full text available via inter library loan. A quick search for Pre-Raphaelites gets over 50 results, including
Hair mad: representation of hair in Victorian literature and culture 1850-1910.

British Periodicals Collection

Contains full-text articles for over 500 journals from the late 17th to the early 20th centuries.

Rossetti Archive

Upon completion, this digital archive will include all of Rossetti's written and pictorial works, along with ample contextual works. The Rossetti Archive is part of the NINES consortium (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-century Electronic Scholarship).


Artists' Catalogues


Judith Brockhurst. William Holman Hunt: A Catalogue Raisonne. NJ18.H918 A12 B75 2006 (LC)+ Oversize (2 vol)

Maria Teresa Benedetti. Dante Gabriel Rossetti. NJ18.R72 B46 1998 (LC)

Jason Rosenfeld and Alison Smith, with contributions by Heather Birchall. Millais. NJ18.M61 R67 2007 (LC) Oversize
Class Reserve Shelf, Fall 08. Not a catalogue raisonne but an extensive and recent exhibition catalogue.

Stephen Wildman and John Christian. Edward Burne-Jones, Victorian artist-dreamer. NJ18 B92 W55 1998 (LC)+ Oversize

Linda Parry, ed. William Morris. NJ18 M847 W53 1996 (LC) 

Stephen Jones. Frederic Leighton, 1830-1896. NJ18 L531 J65 1996 (LC)+ Oversize

Kenneth Bendiner. The art of Ford Madox Brown. NJ18 B8307 B45 1998 (LC) - Class Reserve Shelf, Fall 08

Solomon : a family of painters : Abraham Solomon, 1823-1862, Rebecca Solomon, 1832-1886, Simeon Solomon, 1840-1905. J18 So442 S65 (LC)

Jan Marsh. Christina Rossetti : a literary biography. PR5238 M27 1994 (LC)

Collection Catalogues

Jon Whiteley. Oxford and the Pre-Raphaelites. 1984. Arts Library - N6767.5 P7 W47X 1989 (LC)
Pre-Raphaelites in the Ashmolean.
Only at the Arts Library at the moment,YCBA copy is on order.

The Pre-raphaelites. London: The Tate Gallery. Penguin Books, c1984. N6767.5 P7 P742 1984 (LC)+ Oversize. Class reserve shelf, Fall 08.

Mary Bennett. Artists of the Pre-Raphaelite circle : the first generation : catalogue of works in the Walker Art Gallery, Lady Lever Art Gallery and Sudley Art Gallery. 1988. ND467.5 P7 B46 (LC)

Suzanne Fagence Cooper. Pre-Raphaelite art in the Victoria and Albert Museum. 2003. N6767.5.P7 C66 2003 (LC). Also available at the Arts Library.

Julian Treuherz. Pre-Raphaelite paintings from Manchester City Art Galleries. 1993. Arts Library - ND467.5 P7 M36 1993 (LC)+ Oversize

Image Research

YCBA Photo Archive


Contains over 200,000 black and white photographs of British art worldwide, with a focus on collections in the United States, Canada, and Australia. The photographs are shelved in two sections: cataloged and uncataloged. In both cases, the photographs are shelved alphabetically by artist. A database containing textual descriptions of the images is available in the Reference Library and can be searched by artist, title, owner, year, date, and subject.

Witt Index of the Courtauld Institute

Fiche B33; 10 Year Update, Fiche B32
A microform collection of approx. 300,000 British school photographs in the Witt Library. Located in the Library’s reference section.

Primary Source Periodicals

The following 19th century journals are available in several Yale libraries in print and on microfilm, primarily Sterling Memorial Library and at the Yale Center for British Art Rare Books and Manuscripts Dept.

Punch magazine
Famous satirical magazine known for its political cartoons. The YCBA Rare Book and Manuscriptes Dept. has vols. 1-260 (1841-1979). They are uncatalogued so you will not find them in Orbis. To see them make a request in the Prints & Drawings study room. Several other Yale University libraries carry Punch magazine but Sterling Memorial Library has the most current run, which goes up to vol. 301 (1992).

Cornhill magazine
Perhaps the leading literary magazine in the latter half of the 19th century. Published serial novels, beginning with Thackeray and Trollope. Later contributors included George Eliot, Henry James, and editor Leslie Stephens. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library has a complete run from its inception in 1860-1975. Cornhill is also available on microfilm in Sterling.

Illustrated London News
Sterling has coverage from 1842-2002 in print and full coverage on microfilm. Check the Orbis records for missing issues.

Good Words
Sterling has 1860-1895 in print and the complete run from 1860-1906 on microfilm. Beinecke's has some coverage but it is incomplete and scattered.

Once a Week (1859-1880) - available online via British Periodicals I
Featured illustrations by prominent artists: Holman Hunt, Millais, Sandbys. Sterling has complete coverage from 1859-1880.

Illustration

Geoffrey Wakeman. Victorian book illustration: the technical revolution. BAC Reference Library - Z257 W34 (LC)

Gleeson White, with numerous illustrations by Ford Madox Brown [and others]. English illustration, ’the sixties’ : 1855-70. BAC Reference Library - NC978 W45 1906 (LC).

Susan P. Casteras. Pocket cathedrals : Pre-raphaelite book illustration. BAC Reference Library - NC978 C27 1991 (LC)