Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Check Out These Resources!
For Help on Writing About Art...
Primary Sources and Databases
British Periodicals, Collection I & II
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2007
The complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Eighteenth-Century Journals Portal
Portal to newspapers and periodicals 1685-1815 offers integrated access to the Hope Collection at the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Eighteenth Century Journals I), the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center University of Texas (Eighteenth Century Journals II) and the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London and the Cambridge University Library (Eighteenth Century Journals III) and Chetham's Library, Manchester and Brotherton Library, University of Leeds (Eighteenth Century Journals IV).
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Full-text access to forty-eight 17th & 18th century British newspapers. Find the full Title List on the top menu bar.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Provides fully searchable text editions from among the 150,000 titles published during the 18th century. With special emphasis on the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, and science.
London Low Life: Street Culture, Social Reform and the Victorian Underworld
London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. It is designed for both teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond.
In addition to the digital documents, London Low Life contains a wealth of secondary resources, including a chronology, interactive maps, essays, online galleries and links to other useful websites.
Refers back to the History of British Art Research Guide for YCBA Collections- now fully searchable online. Explore each tab for different mediums and areas of the collection.
Search the eCatalogue for works of art at the Yale University Art Gallery.
Also from the History of British Art Research Guide; this page contains a plethora of resources for locating images.
YCBA Photo Archive
The Photo Archive consists of approximately 150,000 study photographs of British works of art from public and private collections around the world. The archive is arranged alphabetically by artist and can be accessed from the YCBA Reference Library.
Related Subject Headings
To find related resources in Orbis, use some of the most relevant subject headings listed below. To perform a subject heading search, select 'Subject Browse' from the drop-down menu in Orbis (note: Orbis is automatically set to perform keyword searches). Also keep in mind that these subject headings can be altered by variables such as time period or geographical location.
History of Britain Resources
BBC's British History in-depth
Includes basic British History Timeline from the Neolithic to the present day, as well as information-packed sections such as Civil War and Revolution (1603-1714) and Empire and Sea Power (1714-1837). Within each section are detailed subsections worth further exploration.
British History Online
British History Online digital library contains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
Taken from the Britannica Academic Edition, this site provides information on individual battles, notable figures, influences and concepts that were at the core of the Napoleonic Wars. Includes maps, images, videos and more!