PRB Publications
Books on the Pre-Raphaelites by Tim Barringer, Paul Mellon Professor, History of Art.
Writing the Pre-Raphaelites : text, context, subtext by ISBN: 0754657175
Ford Madox Brown: the unofficial Pre-raphaelite by ISBN: 1904832563
Men at work: art and labour in Victorian Britain by ISBN: 0300103808
The Pre-raphaelites: reading the imageISBN: 0297824082
Pre-Raphaelites: Victorian avant garde by ISBN: 9781849760157Publication Date: 2012
Pre-Raphaelite research
Below is a list of databases and books for studying the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood and its individual members and associates.
Online Sources
Rossetti Archive
Upon completion, this digital archive will include all of Rossetti's written and pictorial works, along with ample contextual works.
Birmingham Museums and Art Gallery Pre-Raphaelite Online Resource
Online Sources
Rossetti Archive
Upon completion, this digital archive will include all of Rossetti's written and pictorial works, along with ample contextual works.
Birmingham Museums and Art Gallery Pre-Raphaelite Online Resource
British Periodicals Collection
Contains full-text articles for over 500 journals from the late 17th to the early 20th centuries including many that contained PRB illustrations.
British Newspapers: 1600-1950
Contains full-text articles for over 500 journals from the late 17th to the early 20th centuries including many that contained PRB illustrations.
British Newspapers: 1600-1950
Books about the Artists
Prettejohn. Art of the Pre-Raphaelites. N6767.5 P7 P747 2000
Marsh. The Pre-Raphaelite Circle. N6767.5.P7 M365 2013
Parris (ed.). Pre-Raphaelites. N6767.5 P7 P742 1994 + Oversize
Smith. Pre-Raphaelites: Victorian Art and Design N6767.5.P7 B28186 2013 + Oversize
Surtees. The Paintings and Drawings of Dante Gabriel Rossetti. NJ18.R72 S96 + Oversize
McCarthy. The Last Pre-Raphaelite: Edward Burne-Jones and the Victorian Imagination. NJ18.B92 M33 2011
Barlow: Time Present and Time Past: The Art of John Everett MIllais. NJ18.M61 B37 2005
Bennett. Ford Madox Brown: A Catalogue Raisonne. NJ18.B8307 A12 B45 2010 + Oversize
Brockhurst. William Holman Hunt: A Catalogue Raisonne. NJ18.H918 A12 B75 2006 + Oversize
Lukitsh. Thomas Woolner: Seeing Sculpture Through Photography. NB467 .H44 49 + Oversize
Elzea. Frederick Sandys, 1829-1904: A Catalogue Raisonne. NJ18 Sa577 A12 E59 2001
Primary Source Periodicals and PRB Illustration
Primary Source Periodicals
The following 19th century journals are available in several Yale libraries in print and on microfilm, primarily Sterling Memorial Library and at the Yale Center for British Art Rare Books and Manuscripts Dept.
The following 19th century journals are available in several Yale libraries in print and on microfilm, primarily Sterling Memorial Library and at the Yale Center for British Art Rare Books and Manuscripts Dept.
The Germ
Created by the Pre-Raphaelites in 1850 to dessiminate their ideas, the journal only ran for four issues but incorpotated art and literature from all the PRB members. Available at the YCBA Rare Books Department, the Beinecke, in facsimile in the YCBA Reference Library, and online through Orbis.
Created by the Pre-Raphaelites in 1850 to dessiminate their ideas, the journal only ran for four issues but incorpotated art and literature from all the PRB members. Available at the YCBA Rare Books Department, the Beinecke, in facsimile in the YCBA Reference Library, and online through Orbis.
Punch magazine
Famous satirical magazine known for its political cartoons. The YCBA Rare Book and Manuscriptes Dept. has vols. 1-260 (1841-1979). They are uncatalogued so you will not find them in Orbis. To see them make a request in the Prints & Drawings study room. The Beinecke also carries a print run of Punch and it is available electronically in full text.
Cornhill magazine
Perhaps the leading literary magazine in the latter half of the 19th century. Published serial novels, beginning with Thackeray and Trollope. Later contributors included George Eliot, Henry James, and editor Leslie Stephens. Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library has a complete run from its inception in 1860-1975. Cornhill is also available in full-text from British Periodicals.
Good Words
Sterling has 1860-1895 in print and the complete run from 1860-1906 on microfilm. It is available in full-text through British Periodicals.
Once a Week (1859-1880)
Sterling has complete coverage from 1859-1880 and it is available online via British Periodicals.
Alfred Tennyson. Poems, published by Edward Moxon, 1857. Illustrated by Pre-Raphaelite artists and other Victorian illustrators.
Sterling has complete coverage from 1859-1880 and it is available online via British Periodicals.
Alfred Tennyson. Poems, published by Edward Moxon, 1857. Illustrated by Pre-Raphaelite artists and other Victorian illustrators.
Illustration
Pre-Raphaelite Illustrations: From Moxon's Tennyson. BAC Reference Library - NC978 R65 1978.
Rodney K. Engen. Pre-Raphaelite Prints: The graphic art of Millais, Holman Hunt, Rossetti and their followers. BAC Reference Library - NE628.6 P7 E54 1995.
Geoffrey Wakeman. Victorian book illustration: The technical revolution. BAC Reference Library - Z257 W34.
Geoffrey Wakeman. Victorian book illustration: The technical revolution. BAC Reference Library - Z257 W34.
Gleeson White. English illustration, ’the sixties’: 1855-70. BAC Reference Library - NC978 W45 1906.
Susan P. Casteras. Pocket cathedrals : Pre-Raphaelite book illustration. BAC Reference Library - NC978 C27 1991.
Related Subject Guides
Hello!
Yale Center for British Art YCBA
Contact:
Reference Library and Archives
1080 Chapel Street
(203) 432-2818
Website
1080 Chapel Street
(203) 432-2818