Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of British Art: YCBA Collections

YCBA Collections

YCBA Collections Search
Search the YCBA collections online




Orbis
Yale's online library catalogue is where you will find the Center's rare books and manuscripts as well as the secondary sources of the Reference Library
.

Yale Center for British Art Collections


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The collections of the Yale Center for British Art are now fully searchable online.The Center's online database includes the complete holdings from the Paintings and Sculpture Collection, the Prints and Drawings Collection, and growing portions of the Center's Rare Books and Manuscripts Collection. The entire Reference Collection is also available from this online collection search. Holdings from the Rare Book and Manuscript Collection and the Reference Library Collection are also represented in ORBIS, Yale's online library catalogue.

The Center has the following collection departments that can help with more focused research on British history of art.

Prints and Drawings

Paintings and Sculpture

Rare Books and Manuscripts

 

YCBA Reference Library and Archives
The Yale Center for British Art Reference Library and Archives hold over
30,000 titles and more than 80 current periodicals devoted to British art, artists, and culture from the sixteenth century to the present day. The collections include essential reference works on British artists, but also contain resources on British architecture, print and book culture, performing arts, costume, town and county histories, travel books, and a growing conservation and technical analysis collection. The Reference Collection not only provides resources for scholarly research on the art collections, but it also provides an historical and cultural context for the Center's works of art. 

 

Reference services
Reference Library staff can provide one-on-one or group consultations on researching the Center's art collections or using the Reference Library resources to research any topic related to British history of art.

Reference Desk: 203 432-2818
Email: ycba.reference@yale.edu