It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The internet is flush with images from Islamic art, architecture, and society, but reliable sources (with credit information) are more difficult to track down. So we’ve done it for you! Here are some of the best sites for finding credited visual resources for Islamic, Middle Eastern and North African Studies.
A non-profit association founded in Berlin, Germany, in 2010, to reconstruct and preserve the memory of Armenian life in the Ottoman Empire. Content includes material related to the history of the Armenians in the Ottoman Empire, including social history, local microhistory, dialects, music, literature, material culture, etc.
A vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and wider region, freely available online for the first time. Includes archival materials, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and much more, complete with contextualized explanatory notes and links. Interface in English or Arabic; metadata can be searched in either language, but not content.
Explore the lives of women during the Qajar era (1796-1925) through a wide array of materials from private family holdings and participating institutions. Women’s Worlds in Qajar Iran provides bilingual access to thousands of personal papers, manuscripts, photographs, publications, everyday objects, works of art and audio materials, making it a unique online resource for social and cultural histories of the Qajar world.
By Birte Kristiansen (Leiden University Library). Published in Bibliotheca Orientalis 71/3-4 (2014), a jubilee issue celebrating the 75th anniversary of The Netherlands Institute for the Near East. It is also available as a free pdf download.
By Ronald E. Kon (Leiden University). Published in Bibliotheca Orientalis 71/3-4 (2014), a jubilee issue celebrating the 75th anniversary of The Netherlands Institute for the Near East. It is also available as a free pdf download.
Documents and analyzes cultural, social, and political trends in the diverse Iranian, Central Asian, and Diaspora communities. Provides access to contemporary debates and research in fields ranging from literature to gender studies and from cinema to urban geography and beyond.
Created by two former students of computer science located in Copenhagen, Denmark. In addition to annotated text, provides additional links to further resources intended to aid study of the Quran and Tafsir.
This is a literary blog aimed at non-Arab readers seeking a deeper understanding of Arabic literature and culture. Produced by Marcia Lynx Qualey, it focuses on Arabic literature that has been translated and discusses the translations as well as the literature itself.
By Navid Zarrinnal, an introductory guide describing the archives and process of gaining access to them, once a person is already in the country. Emphasizes the National Library and Archives Organization of Iran as they hold the most comprehensive collections.
Collection of reports by journalists from Iran, Afghanistan and Tajikistan, who are pioneering new forms of multimedia journalism. They provide original snapshots of life in their societies in multimedia formats, from new angles, offering new voices and images.
Interested in exploring Nubian culture, language, literature and history but just getting started? This sampling of scholarly and popular resources centering Nubian voices and perspectives complements those developed by the Collaboratory. Suggestions and feedback welcome! Compiled by Evyn Kropf.
Originally created by Jonathan Rodgers, former head of the Near East Division at Harlan Hatcher Graduate Library, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor; now maintaned by Evyn Kropf, Librarian for Middle Eastern & North African Studies and Religious Studies and Curator, Islamic Manuscripts Collection.