It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
Offers images of original (primary source) documents taken from libraries and archives around the world including correspondence, diaries, literature and illustrations. Includes essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. Covers a range of topics and includes Africa, the Americans, Australasia, Oceania and South Asia. Includes documents published between 1492-1969.
The collection includes primary source documents on Middle Eastern politics, culture, and history from 1812 through 1969, and covers the following countries: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria. Documents in the collection include telegrams, treaties, reports, correspondence, and other materials from the Foreign and Colonial Offices of the British government.
The collection consists of the personal accounts of 134 individuals who played major roles in or were eyewitnesses to important political events in Iran from the 1920s to the 1980s. Of these, 118 narratives have been digitized and are available to researchers through this database. The collection provides scholars and practitioners the opportunity to listen to and read the personal accounts of many of Iran's former political leaders as they recall the times and events that shaped their lives and the life of their country.
Provides data on the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events in Middle East countries. The documents are sourced from the UK National Archives, and include analyses, annual reviews and diplomatic correspondence.
Find Printed Primary Sources
Primary source translations that are in the Yale libraries will often be listed in Quicksearch under subject words combined with such terms as "Sources," "Early works to 1800," "Correspondence," "Interviews," or "Personal narratives." For example, the search middle east sources produces books including:
Enabling students to easily access and study original documents through the supportive framework of a textbook, this work presents the seventy most important and widely cited documents in the history of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. presenting them in an edited form to highlight key elements. Includes an introductory chapter which sets the context for the study of the history of the area and covers a comprehensive historical period, ranging from the 19th century to the present day. Includes a wide range of pedagogical aids, such as original documents, maps and boxed sections.
"A collection of original documents—treaties, government policy papers, oil concessions, party manifestoes—relevant to the international affairs of the Middle East.... Lucid background sketches and an up-to-date bibliography accompany each document."