It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
For research and reference help, or for questions about the collections, do not hesitate to contact me. Live online reference assistance for general questions is also available athttps://ask.library.yale.edu/
The principal databases useful to researchers in Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies are:
Index Islamicus -- Indexes materials on Islam, the Middle East, and the entire Muslim world from periodicals, monographs, book chapters, and other collections in Western languages. Includes coverage of arts and humanities, history, and social sciences (including religious minorities in predominantly Muslim countries, and Muslim minorities in predominantly non-Muslim countries).
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS) -- Indexes research, policy, and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. Over 12,000 records of recently published & "grey" literature are added annually.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online includes an online concordance to the Quran, side-by-side comparisons of Quranic translations, and online primary sources on a variety of topics related to Islamic studies.
Encyclopedia Iranica -- The most extensive compendium ever conceived on the past and present culture of the people who speak an Iranian language and their contribution to the broader history of human civilization. It is the only precise and reliable reference work on the lands, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies.
AMEEL -- Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library, containing 250,000 pages of full text, indexed and searchable in the language of publication including Arabic and Western scripts. Includes scholarly journals and gazettes in Arabic, Lane's Lexicon, al-Fīrūzābādī's dictionary al-Qāmūs al-muḥīṭ, a selection of important manuscript catalogs, and a selection of digitized manuscripts in Arabic and Persian from the collections of Yale University Library and the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) at the University of London.
NOTE: the link points to "old AMEEL" and not to "new AMEEL," which has been ingested into Yale Digital Collections but is still presenting some problems replicating "old AMEEL"'s full-text & Arabic-script searching.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS (EBSCO) -- Produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA). Coverage from 1881 to the present. Includes more than 450 full-text titles in many diverse areas of religion and theology, including Islamic and Eastern Christian studies, with content in 16 languages (including Turkish) from more than 30 different countries.