Yale University Library's holdings of materials on South Asia are strongest and/or fastest growing in the following subject areas:
- the history of western involvement in South Asia
- Independance-era India (ca.1947)
- modern literature in English and Hindi
- classical Sanskrit and Pali literature
- religion (especially Pali Buddhism, Jainism, and Christian missionary activity)
- Bollywood movies
- Art history
- agricultural and forestry material (Subject Guide)
- the Himalayas (Subject Guide)
Materials in other areas, while not as heavily represented, are also actively collected: law, economics, sociology, anthropology, archaeology, religion (Islam, Hinduism, etc), and philosophy.
Where is the South Asia Collection?
The South Asia Collection is spread across the entire Yale University Library system. Search In ORBIS for material in the following locations:
- Sterling Memorial Library: the main collection (humanities and some social science material)
- Center for Science and Social Science Information (CSSSI): science and social science material (including some anthropology, history, forestry, and statistical material)
- Divinity Library: material about Christianity and missionary activity in South Asia
- Haas Art Library: Includes printed material from and about South Asian art
- Map Department: many maps, both digital and paper, of South Asia
- Yale Center for British Art: Includes a large amount of art from and about the British Empire in South Asia
Tuesday, Nov 30, 1999: American Oriental Society foundedThe library of the American Oriental Society (AOS) supports and documents research in the languages and literatures of Asia. Its holdings include materials in Arabic, Persian, Turkish, Assyrian, Babylonian, Sumerian, Pali, Prakrit, Chinese, Japanese, and
Wednesday, Jan 1, 1840: Prof. Edward E. Salisbury begins teaching Sanskrit at Yale"Yale was the first academic institution to teach Sanskrit in the Western Hemisphere. Sanskrit has been taught continuously at Yale since the late 1840s when Professor Edward E. Salisbury introduced Sanskrit to the University curriculum."
Saturday, Jan 1, 1842: American Oriental Society founded The library of the American Oriental Society (AOS) includes materials in Arabic, Persian, Sanskrit, Pali, and Prakrit. The collection's printed materials are located in Room 329 of Sterling Memorial Library.
Sunday, Jan 1, 1854: Salisbury endowed a professorial chair to teach Sanskrit"In 1854, he endowed a permanent professorial chair in Sanskrit, which was filled in the same year by his student, William Dwight Whitney."
Thursday, Jun 1, 1854: William Dwight Whitney becomes the first Edward E. Salisbury Professorship of Sanskrit and Comparative Philology The Edward E. Salisbury Professorship of Sanskrit and Comparative Philology is the second oldest endowed Sanskrit chair in the United States.
Friday, Jan 1, 1960 to Tuesday, Jan 1, 1980: Yale University Library joins the PL480 - New Delhi programYUL joins the PL480 program, run by the Library of Congress, from approximately 1960 to 1980. Yale University Library begins collecting heavily in many South Asian languages, such as Arabic, Persian, and Tibetan.
Friday, Jan 1, 1999: Yale University Library begins actively collecting South Asian materialThe Librarian for Southeast Asian Studies, Rich Richie, begins curating the new South Asian Collection. YUL rejoins the Library of Congress Collective Acquisitions Program.
Monday, Nov 17, 2008: "President Levin Announces the Yale India Initiative" "The Yale India Initiative promotes the study and teaching of India and South Asia both in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, and in the Professional Schools, while also creating a platform for innovative leadership education programs."
Monday, Jul 18, 2011: The first Librarian for South Asian Studies is hiredYale University Library hired a full time South Asian specialist, Sarah Calhoun.
Monday, Aug 19, 2013: South Asia Collection office movesThe South Asia Collection office moves from Sterling Memorial Library room 333 to room 210.
Librarian for South Asian Studies
Sterling Memorial Library, room 210
(look for the bulletin board)
International Collections and Research Support
Mail: PO Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520-8240
Tel: (203) 432-7795
South Asia, Area Studies, Himalayan studies, Religion, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Hindi, Sinhala, Sanskrit, Pali, Foreign languages and literature
Writing down the bones : freeing the writer within / Natalie Goldberg