Mostly digitized primary sources for 20th century British history (newspapers, government documents, books, images, etc.) Also includes Yale microform collections and printed guides.

Mostly digitized primary sources for 19th century British history (newspapers, government documents, books, images, etc.) Also includes Yale microform collections and printed guides.

Mostly digitized primary sources for early-modern British history (pamphlets, government documents, books, images, etc.) Also includes Yale microform collections and printed guides.

The British Library offers exceptionally rich resources for the study of South Asia, past and present. South Asia is taken to include India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Tibet, Bhutan, Sikkim, Nepal and Sri Lanka.

The India Office Records are the repository of the archives of the East India Company (1600-1858), the Board of Control or Board of Commissioners for the Affairs of India (1784-1858), the India Office (1858-1947), the Burma Office (1937-1948), and a number of related British agencies overseas.

The collections of the India Office Library and Records reflect the territorial interests and activities of the East India Company and the India Office, and include literature and documents on India, Pakistan, Burma, Bangladesh and neighbouring countries, Iran and the Gulf states, South Africa, St. Helena, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, China and Japan.

Government documents related to pre- and post- Independence South Asia. Some items are located at the University of Chicago; others are at the British Library.

pt 1. China and Japan (34 reels) -- pt. 2. China (34 reels) -- pt. 3. Fort St. George (Madras) (25 reels) -- pt. 4. Fort St. George (Madras) (25 reels) -- pt. 5. Calcutta (9 reels)

pt. 1. Bengal, 1874-1903 (27 reels) -- pt. 2. Bengal, 1904-1916 (26 reels) -- pt. 3. Punjab, Agra, Oudh, Rajputana and Central Provinces, c1868-1896 (29 reels) -- pt. 4. United Provinces, 1897-1937 (29 reels) - pt. 5. Madras, 1876-1921 (32 reels) -- pt. 6. Bombay, 1874-1898 (18 reels) -- pt. 7. Bombay, 1901-1921 (25 reels) -- pt. 8. Punjab 1896-1924 ; Sind 1936-1939 ; Burma 1938-1942 ; Bihar and Orissa 1920

1710-1944, 1760-1897. Original manuscript material comprising diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.

Brings together images of original manuscript and printed documents from libraries and archives around the world.

Includes digitized versions of primary sources such as letters, financial papers, administration papers, East India Company records, and other miscellania. Dates from approx 1752-1919. See full description here.

[India papers Paper version]
Censures of the directors of the company on Governor Hastings, and papers relating to the charges. An authentic copy of the correspondence in India, between the country powers and the honourable the East India Company's servants; containing amongst many others the letters of Governor Hastings, J. Macpherson, Esq., J. Stables, Esq. ... &c., together with the minutes of the Supreme Council at Calcutta. The whole forming a collection of the most interesting India-papers, which were laid before Parliament in the session of 1786 ...

Electronic collection reproduced from rare periodicals and newspapers (1685-1815) drawn from British Library Newspapers at Colindale and from Cambridge University Library, focusing on journals published outside of London. Includes: Asiatic Mirror, Bengal Lottery, Bombay Courier, Calcutta Gazette, Hicky's Bengal Gazette, India Gazette, Calcutta Chronicle, Hircarrah, Madras Courier, The Phoenix (Madras), World (Calcutta),

ECCO contains digital page images of about 150,000 books and other materials published during the 18th Century. Its coverage is based on that of the Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a list of the 18th century holdings from the British Library and other libraries worldwide, including many from South Asia.

The Digital Colonial Documents Project (India) is intended to promote study of the rare seminal documents which were influential in the formation of the notions of nation, state and culture during the colonial period. The project makes available rare colonial documents as searchable internet documents. Includes: 1871-1901 Census, East India Company documents, and personal reports.

The Centre of South Asian Studies (Cambridge) has a collection of interviews conducted in the 1970s and 1980s with both Indian and British people describing their experiences of life in British India, the events leading up to independence in 1947 and the early years of independent India and Pakistan. Covers all aspects of South Asian society, from a wide range of perspectives and includes interviews with prominent figures in the movements for independence, senior civil servants, labourers, poets, writers, broadcasters, soldiers etc. There are a total of 400 interviews, all transcribed, totalling over 1,000 hours of recordings.

Before television, people came to movie theatres to watch the news. British Pathé was at the forefront of cinematic journalism, blending information with entertainment to popular effect. Over the course of a century, it documented everything from major armed conflicts and seismic political crises to the curious hobbies and eccentric lives of ordinary people. If it happened, British Pathé filmed it. Now considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world, British Pathé is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance.

A list of the results from doing a "Subject browse" for: India--History--British occupation, 1765-1947--Sources

Calendar of Persian correspondence, being letters, referring mainly to affairs in Bengal, which passed between some of the company's servants and Indian rulers and notables ... [1759-1795]

pt. 4. East India Company : ships' logs, ledgers and receipt books, 1605-1701 from the British Library (reels 1-25)

The journals of Michael Pakenham Edgeworth (1812-1881) from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. "This project includes Bodleian Library MS Eng misc g356 (his sketch book); MSS Eng misc d1302-3 & e1469-75 (the journals); MS Eng misc d1305 (copies & extracts from the journals); MSS Eng misc d1306-7 (notes and drawings for "Pollen" [London, 1877], his main botanical work; MS Eng misc. e1476 (statistics); and MS Eng misc e1477 (Sir James Innes' account of the siege of Lucknow). The letters of Michael Pakenham Edgeworth and his wife are included in "Women, Education and Literature: the papers of Maria Edgeworth, 1768-1849" Part 1"

pt. 1. Demi-official correspondence, c.1898-1905 (29 reels) -- pt. 2. Summary of Administration by Topic, Private Correspondence, and Official Papers on India: Internal Affairs, c.1898-1905 (31 reels) -- pt. 3. Official Papers on India: Foreign and Frontier Policy, c.1898-1905 (20 reels) -- pt. 4. Post viceregal correspondence regarding India, c.1906-1925, and papers on the Kitchener controversy (25 reels) -- pt. 5. Correspondence and papers on Foreign Affairs, 1906-1924 (30 reels) -- pt. 6. Indian scrapbooks, travel diaries and files on the Far East (15 reels)

Microfilm. v.1. 1784-1788.--v.2. 1789-1797.--v.3. 1798-1805.--v.4. 1806-1815.--v. 5. 1816-1823.--v.6 The days of John Company, 1824-1832.

Organized to complement the Center’s major exhibition on Johan Zoffany, who spent six productive years in India, Adapting the Eye explores the complex and multifaceted networks of British and Indian professional and amateur artists, patrons, and scholars in British India in the later eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries, and their drive to create and organize knowledge for both aesthetic and political purposes.

Records from the British East India Company

1829. Examination of the principles and policy of the government of British India : embracing a particular inquiry concerning the tenure of lands, strictures on the administration of justice, and suggestions for the improvement of the character and condition of the natives in general / by a gentleman in the service of the Honourable the East India Company.

Reports of agents of the East India Company in Mahi Kantha in Gujarat (western India) and dispatches from East India officials in Bombay sent to London. The reports provide a history of the Mahi Kantha before 1821 and describe political events there through 1839. The documents are all copies.

A miscellaneous collection of documents, printed or photocopied, by and about Elihu Yale. Included are records of the Agency of Fort St. George (Madras, India), 1679-1692, during the years of Elihu Yale's governorship, biographical and genealogical materials, copies of correspondence (1699-1719) with Catherine and Elihu Nicks and material on Madras, India and Wrexham, Wales.