It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A summary of Yale University Library's South Asia Collection, which includes material from and about Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Himalayan region, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
Many universities, public libraries, and other public-spirited organizations have digitized materials, but these digital collections often exist in silos. The DPLA brings these different viewpoints, experiences, and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage.
WorldCat is the "Catalog of catalogs". It includes most of the data in Yale's online catalog, plus Borrow Direct and major research and public libraries around the United States. Some Canadian and Europeans libraries are also in WorldCat.
The DfR service is provided by JSTOR for use by the research community. It provides a set of web-based tools for selecting and interacting with content from the JSTOR archive. The service also provides the ability to obtain data sets via bulk downloads.
Documents and provides access to the diverse and relatively unknown stories of South Asian Americans. Our collection reflects the vast range of experiences of the South Asian diaspora in the United States, including those who trace their heritage to Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the many South Asian diaspora communities across the globe.
The World Oral Literature Project is an urgent global initiative to document and disseminate endangered oral literatures before they disappear without record. The Project supports local communities and committed fieldworkers engaged in the collection and preservation of all forms of oral literature by providing funding for original research, alongside training in fieldwork and digital archiving methods.
The British Library for Development Studies (BLDS) contains the largest collection of economic and social development materials in Europe. Its unique holdings, built up over 40 years, consist of approximately one million items held in over four miles of shelving space. Over half originates from developing countries, and much of it is unavailable in other European or US libraries.
Includes many digital projects about South Asia. The Programme's aim is to contribute to the preservation of archival material that is in danger of destruction, neglect or physical deterioration world-wide. The main means by which the Programme achieves this is through the creation of digital or microfilm copies of endangered materials and the relocation of the originals to a safe local archival home.
National Mission for Manuscripts is a National level comprehensive initiative which caters to the need of conserving manuscripts and disseminating knowledge contained therein. NMM is working towards fulfilling its motto, ‘conserving the past for the future’. It has emerged as a movement, undoubtedly the most popular and effective among all the heritage conservation initiatives in the country.
This collection consists of a collection of books, journals and maps related broadly to the Himalayas and its outlying attached ranges including the Hindu Kush, the Karakorams, the Pamirs, the Tian Shan and the Kuen Lun as well as the Tibetan highlands and the Tarim basin. These materials are housed in this site, and are freely available for personal non-commercial use and downloading.
South Asia Open Archives is a free open-access resource for research and teaching - a rich and growing curated collection of key historical and contemporary sources in arts, humanities and social sciences, from and about South Asia, in English and other languages of the region. SAOA's collection currently contains hundreds of thousands of pages of books, journals, newspapers, census data, magazines, and documents, with particular focus on social & economic history, literature, women & gender, and caste & social structure.
The 1947 Partition Archive is dedicated to documenting the people's history of the 1947 India-Pakistan Partition, a globally disruptive event that created the largest mass refugee crisis in our written human history.
The International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD) is a regional intergovernmental learning and knowledge sharing centre serving the eight regional member countries of the Hindu Kush Himalayas – Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, India, Myanmar, Nepal, and Pakistan – and based in Kathmandu, Nepal.
‘Mountain Voice’ is a multi-media initiative of Climate Himalaya that captures the experiences, thoughts and opinions of people, practitioners, policy makers and researchers on various climate linked issues in the Himalayan region of South Asia. In this the CHI team interacts with people to record their voices to understand the current situation by uploading them on its knowledge portal and YouTube channel that could be viewed by people worldwide.