It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library building hours and access are limited at this time. Services and support are being provided remotely. See COVID-19 library updates.
A summary of Yale University Library's South Asia Collection, which includes material from and about Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Himalayan region, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
Sterling Memorial Library houses the main Microform Reading Room of the Yale University Library. The reading room contains one of the largest collections of its kind and is an especially rich source of newspapers and other primary source material, including collections such as the papers of Winston Churchill, the NAACP, Planned Parenthood, and numerous government agencies.
Publication Date: [varies, but approximately most recent 2-10 years of coverage]
Search across multiple news sources for both local and regional news. Includes titles like Times of India, The Hindu, The Hindustan Times, Dhaka Courier, Kabul Press, Kashmir Times, Katmandu Post, The Nation (Pakistan), The New Indian Express, Nepali Times, Pakistan Press International, Sikkim Times, The Statesman (Pakistan and India), Voice of Sikkim, United News of Bangladesh, and many more.
Publication Date: [varies, but approximately 3 months of coverage]
Online access to recent issues of over 200 newspapers from more than 55 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. **Only includes recent issues, not back issues (from 3 days - 3 months, usually) **Countries: India, Nepal, Pakistan.
The FBIS Daily Reports provide English-language translations of broadcast transcripts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from countries around the world. The database currently includes translations from media in the Middle East, Near East, Africa, China, South Asia, and Latin America. Other Versions: FBIS Daily Reports back to 1946 (except 1948-1952) are available on microfilm; use the Orbis library catalog to request. Includes FBIS Daily Report Annexes, 1974-1996.
The database World News Connection provides full-text translations from 1997-present. Narrow by SOURCE COUNTRY for place of publication.
Electronic collection reproduced from rare periodicals and newspapers (1685-1815) drawn from British Library Newspapers at Colindale and from Cambridge University Library, focusing on journals published outside of London. Includes: Asiatic Mirror, Bengal Lottery, Bombay Courier, Calcutta Gazette, Hicky's Bengal Gazette, India Gazette, Calcutta Chronicle, Hircarrah, Madras Courier, The Phoenix (Madras), World (Calcutta), etc.
Consists of weekly typewritten abstracts taken from a wide variety of Indian newspapers, with some extracts. Translated by an official translator. pt. 1. Bengal, 1874-1903 (27 reels) -- pt. 2. Bengal, 1904-1916 (26 reels) -- pt. 3. Punjab, Agra, Oudh, Rajputana and Central Provinces, c1868-1896 (29 reels) -- pt. 4. United Provinces, 1897-1937 (29 reels) - pt. 5. Madras, 1876-1921 (32 reels) -- pt. 6. Bombay, 1874-1898 (18 reels) -- pt. 7. Bombay, 1901-1921 (25 reels) -- pt. 8. Punjab 1896-1924 ; Sind 1936-1939 ; Burma 1938-1942 ; Bihar and Orissa 1920
Consists of full text news articles dating from the early-mid 20th century, weekly updates from the Facts on file world news digest, and regular wire-service updates from Reuters. Additional features include: maps, photographs, historical documents, and overviews of key issues.
Covers India ONLY in English and European languages ONLY.
ISI Emerging Markets delivers news, company and financial data. ISI Emerging Markets gives emerging market specialists worldwide one-stop Internet access to mission-critical information straight from the local markets. Current news, company financial statements, company profiles, corporate action reports, industry reports, analyst and brokerage reports, closing price quotes, macroeconomic statistics, macroeconomic forecasts and legal and political information are given for each country.Information is updated anywhere from continuously throughout the day to once annually depending on the type of information. For instance, BBC Worldwide Monitoring is updated 60-100 times per day, whereas certain macroeconomic figures may be updated once per quarter and privatization or topical reports may be updated once per year.
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Currently includes: "Gorkha Sansar." Dehra Dun, [India]: Grenda Himalayana Press [1926-]. A weekly newspaper in Nepali, from 4 November 1926 to 12 March 1929. The web presenation of Gorkha Sansar is a collaboration between the Digital South Asia Library, the South Asia Microform Project and the Madan Puraskar Library in Patan Dhoka, Nepal.
Includes Himalayan newspapers and magazines such as: Nation Weekly (English-language Nepali magazine); Nepali Aawaz (Nepali-language fortnightly publication); Nepali Times (English-language Nepali weekly newspaper); Newsfront (English-language Nepali weekly publication); Samaya (Nepali-language weekly); Saptahik (Nepali-language weekly); and many more.
The collection consists of published materials including articles, government reports and inquiries, newspaper articles, as well as academic presentations and correspondence regarding international incidents of ethnic strife, riots, and uprisings. The materials were collected by Donald L. Horowitz when researching his book, The Deadly Ethnic Riot (2001). They document events from circa 1929 to 2000 in Africa, South Asia, Southeast Asia, Asia Minor and Central Asia, East Asia, and Europe, with ethnic conflicts in Africa and Asia most represented.
Digitized by the Heidelberg University Library. English-language newspaper "Himalayan Times", published in the years 1947 to 1963 by Suresh Chandra Jain in Kalimpong (West Bengal, India). It should be noted that full-text search of the contents is not always reliable due to the poor quality of the originals.
The International Union List of South Asian Newspapers and Gazettes contains information on 3,000 newspapers and gazettes published in South Asia and abroad, including publications serving diaspora communities world-wide.