Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Specialized reference sources
Instead of Wikipedia, try these databases:
Himalayan Special Collections
Includes information about the Tibetan collection in the Beinecke.
Filmer Stuart Cockow Northrop Papers (MS 627)
Includes photographs of Theravada Buddhist sites across Asia.
Theodore Martindale Purdy Collection (MSSA)
Includes photographs and sketches of Buddhists and Buddhist sites in Sri Lanka and Burma in the late 19th century.
"Indic" collection (Beinecke)
Not in Orbis. Includes about 50 books and pamphlets in various South Asian languages. Includes palm leaf manuscripts from Sri Lanka written in both Sinhala and Tamil scripts.
Ellsworth Huntington Collection (MS 1)
Includes photographs from Persia, Afghanistan, India, Tibet, and Ceylon; artifacts (including a bit of a lama's robe and Buddha figurines); and manuscripts in Tibetan, Prakrit, and Kharosthī script
Gandharan sculptures (YUAG)
Includes both stone/basalt/schist sculptures from Gandhara, and photographs of sculptures. Primarily Buddha and Bodhisattva images.
Bodhisattva images (YUAG)
Includes sculptures, hanging scrolls, photographs, and prints from India, China, Japan, Java, and Gandhara.
Stupa illustrations (YUAG)
Includes a 2nd century BCE sculpture of a stupa; photographs of stupas; stupa-shaped jars and rings; and a recorded lecture about the Sanchi Stupa in Colonial and Postcolonial India.
Buddhist sculptures (YUAG)
Includes sculptures of seated and standing Taras, Buddhas, Apsaras, Manjusri, and a lacquered copy of the Kammavaca from Burma.
Librarian for South Asian Studies