South Asian Studies: Islam

A summary of Yale University Library's South Asia Collection, which includes material from and about Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Himalayan region, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

Databases

Index Islamicus
Middle East and Islamic Studies (Brill)
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
JSTOR
ATLA Religion
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
DissertationReviews.org
Also has reviews of archives abroad.

Specialized reference sources

Instead of Wikipedia, try these databases:

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies
Includes short summaries of common topics in Islam, plus lists of the best scholarly works on these subjects.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Islam
The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Islamic Communities in South Asia
"Islam" (volume 2) - Norton anthology of world religions
Edited by Jane Dammen McAuliffe.
Britannica Academic: Islam
Want something like Wikipedia, but maybe a little more...reliable? This is the place to go.
Britannica Academic: Mughal dynasty
Middle East Studies at Yale

Special Collections

Persian Collection
Includes information about Persian material in both the Beinecke and the Old Yale class in Sterling.
Urdu Collection (Beinecke)
Not in Orbis. Includes around 13 manuscripts
Middle East Special Collections
Includes information about collections in Manuscripts and Archives, the Beinecke, the Babylonian Collections, and the Natacha Rambova Archive.
Items from Mughal India (YUAG)
Includes paintings, manuscripts, textiles, and coins.

Last Updated: Aug 23, 2023 12:25 PM
URL: https://guides.library.yale.edu/SouthAsia
Print Page

Subjects: South Asian Studies

Tags: asian studies, commonwealth, CONSALD, himalaya, india, international studies, primary sources, south_asia

South Asian Studies: Islam

Databases

Specialized reference sources

Special Collections

Site Navigation

Yale's Libraries