A summary of Yale University Library's South Asia Collection, which includes material from and about Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Himalayan region, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
This cross-collection search retrieves results from over 500,000 images in selected Library Digital Collections (Beinecke, Lewis Walpole, Classics, Manuscripts and Archives, Visual Resource Collection, Yale Daily News archive, and ArtSTOR).
Yale Silk Road Database
The Yale Silk Road Database presents over 11,000 images of major sites in the Silk Road region taken during faculty site seminars led by Mimi Hall Yiengpruksawan (Professor, History of Art) under the auspices of the Council on East Asian Studies at Yale University in the summers of 2006-2010.
Le Corbusier in India
Images of architecture by Le Corbusier from India, primarily Chandigarh
Based in New Delhi, primarily dedicated to the exploration and study of the cultural history of India. Over the last 30 years, Ebrahim Alkazi, the Foundation's Chairman and Director, has amassed a private collection of 19th-century photographs known as The Alkazi Collection of Photography.
Archnet is a globally-accessible, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world.
We preserve, archive, document and research populist imagery from the inception of print culture in the 19th century to contemporary times. Our growing digital image archive is one of the most significant in India and constitutes our focus of research.
Information about modern artists in India, including descriptions of exhibitions and interviews with artists. Has a particular focus on lens-based practices.
Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.
This website includes many photographs of South Asia, along with current and historical maps, illustrations/diagrams to use for teaching purposes, information and photographs of the Bamiyan Buddha, and much more.
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Includes South Asian posters, calendar art, pilgrimage maps and paraphernalia, cinema hoardings, advertisements, and other forms of street and bazaar art.
