This is the "Home" page of the "Doing Research in Music at Yale University Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Doing Research in Music at Yale University Library   Tags: music  

An introduction to finding music scores, videos, recordings, articles, and more.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.yale.edu/music_research Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Music Research Tools

an excellent guide to researching music

ML113 S192 M9 (Music Library Reference section)

Orbis
Yale University Library catalog

Oxford Music Online
contains Grove Music Online and other encyclopedias in full text

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Recent articles in scholarly journals and books

JSTOR 
Core scholarly journals (contains back issues)

Naxos Music Library
An online database of sound recordings 

DRAM 
Recordings from New World Records and other independent labels.

International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text 
Recent articles in in music periodicals

Index to Printed Music 
Index (name & title) to individual works (scores) found in scholarly editions of printed music.

The Music Sack is an incredibly comprehensive database of "people involved in music," including biographies, articles/books, bands, churches, and theatres.

For a list of other databases for music see Music Databases: Articles, Audio, etc.

For more information about finding music at Yale in various catalogs and lists, see Catalogs and Finding Aids for Music

 

Welcome

Welcome!

The pages on this guide will point you to some of the most useful resources for beginning your research in music. Please contact me or the authors of any of these guides if you have questions about finding music or writings about music at Yale.

 

Start Here

bulletFinding Books

bulletFinding Articles

bulletScores and sheet music

bulletRecordings (CDs, LPs, audio databases)

bulletVideos & DVDs

bulletTopical Guides

bulletCourse Related Guides

How to find your way in Music Classification?

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Remi Castonguay
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip