It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In contrast to language dictionaries, subject dictionaries (or encyclopedias) introduce historical and contextual information and starting bibliographies. Unlike wikipedia.org, published dictionaries and encyclopedias contain entries written by leading scholars with peer review.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by Michael D. CooganThe two-volume Oxford is the first in this series of specialized reference works, each addressing a specific subfield within biblical studies. The series, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible, aims to produce high-level scholarly reference works that are accessible and in-depth, going beyond the basics to provide more specialized coverage. 120 in-depth entries, ranging in length from 500 to 10,000 words, on each NT book, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation. Cross-references, lists of abbreviations, index, bibliographies for all entries. Online available.
The only comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world. Our board of experienced and internationally diverse editors has collected over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world.