Lexicon entries provide linguistic information (principal parts of a verb, contextual usages, etc.). Lexicons also provide textual evidence for various meanings of a word.
A Greek-English Lexicon by
The standard lexicon. The LSJ comes in a variety of lengths and abridgments (the “Little Liddell,” the “Middle Liddell,” and the “Great Scott”). For daily use an abridged form is suggested.
A Patristic Greek Lexicon by
Used in conjunction with Liddell Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon, this lexicon provides supplementary material from early Christian writings.
For casual use, dictionaries provide quick and general translations.
Shorter Lexicon of the Greek New Testament by
This digest provides easy access to reliable and brief definitions, interpretations of most variants, and many of the conjugational and declensional forms that frustrate readers of the New Testament.
Pocket Oxford Classical Greek Dictionary by
This elementary dictionary covers over 20,000 words and phrases. Includes irregular verb tables and pronunciation guide.
After learning the basics of Greek grammar, reference grammars ease the process of reading new Greek texts. Consult a reference grammar whenever particular questions of syntax or stylistics arise.
Greek Grammar by
The standard, which brought German scholarship of Ancient Greek linguistics to the Anglophone world. Detailed and (mostly) exhaustive.
Greek Grammar of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by
This grammar sets the Greek of the NT in the context of Hellenistic Greek, compared to classical norms. The standard. Cross-references to NT verses. Examples, both theoretical and practical, are far from exhaustive.
Reference grammars also come in shorter, less exhaustive, forms. These help “brush up” or review concepts quickly.
Oxford Grammar of Classical Greek by
Simple and concise explanations of key points of Classical Greek grammar. Ample paradigms, vocabulary lists, study guides, and practice sentences. Includes illustrated guide to literary and other terms.
Greek New Testament by
The “UBS5” enjoys global popularity. Prioritizes the amount of information presented for each variation unit, and not the total number of variation units. Includes comparisons of English translations and those of other modern languages.
Greek New Testament by
Bare-bones apparatus with a workable base text. Strives for ease of use and integration with subscription programs like Logos Bible Software.
Novum Testamentum Graece by
The “NA28” remains the standard Greek NT in the USA. Prioritizes number of variation units in the apparatus over amount of information about each unit. The 27th edition differs little from the 28th, but changes from the 26th are significant.
Novum Testamentum Graecum: Editio Critica Maior by
This series is (technically) the only critical edition of Greek NT texts. Each edition is multiple volumes. Completed so far: Parallel Pericopes, Acts of the Apostles, Catholic Letters.
The Greek New Testament by
The "Westcott & Hort" established the Greek text that is the basis for subsequent NT editions and English translations. The historical standard against which all Greek NT editions are measured. Recent printings add textual comparisons with other editions (e.g. the NA), lexicon, and forward by text critic Eldon J. Epp. Updated editions available.
The Greek New Testament, Reader's Edition by
A hotbed for NT text criticism, the United Kingdom has produced several new Greek NTs. Expect novel editorial decisions but only a growing academic popularity.
Learning grammars teach the basics of Greek grammar, vocabulary, and paradigms. The grammar chosen for Elem NT Greek (REL 3605-3606) varies from year to year. Try the following for self-study.
Athenaze: An Introduction to Ancient Greek by
Athenaze students read Greek narrative right from the beginning. Quick transition from sentences to texts. Multi-volume. Self-quizzes, methodical pacing, and ample cultural context. Fun!
Introduction to Attic Greek by
For college students. Quick exposure to the grammar and morphology in actual texts. Each chapter is a self-contained instructional unit, with exercises tailored to reflect recently learned vocabulary and grammar.
A Compendious Syriac Dictionary by
Abridgment of Thesaurus Syriacus. English translations and notations.
A Syriac Lexicon by
A reputable Syriac dictionary. Original Latin and ordering of words according to triliteral Semitic roots make its use difficult. Revised edition by Sokoloff renders meanings in English, arranges words alphabetically, and includes a CD.
Comparative Edition of the Syriac Gospels by
Three versions of the Syriac Gospels in one place. Multiple volumes.
Das Neue Testament in Syrischer Uberlieferung by
Syriac NT epistles. Multiple volumes.
Biblia Sacra iuxta Vulgatam Versionem by
The standard Latin NT.
Itala: Das Neue Testament in Altlateinischer Uberlieferung by
Old Latin Gospels.
Vetus Latina: Die Reste der Altlateinischen Bibel by
Old Latin Epistles.
A Concise Coptic-English Lexicon by
Standard Coptic–English dictionary. Not a lexicon, despite its name. Used in Yale Coptic courses. Great for daily reading.
A Coptic Dictionary by
Despite its title, Crum is a full-fledged lexicon. The standard. Used in Yale Coptic courses.
A Coptic Grammar with Chrestomathy and Glossary by
Standard Coptic reference grammar. Used in Yale Coptic Courses. The "Big Bentley."
Coptic in 20 Lessons by
Standard learning grammar for Coptic. Used in Yale Coptic courses. The "Little Layton."
The Coptic Version of the New Testament in the Southern Dialect by
The standard and only complete Sahidic NT. Standard does not imply good. Apparatus is incomplete, and errors common. Search for an edition of the particular NT book of interest.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved
