Gay and Lesbian Theologies: Repetitions with Critical Difference by
Critical survey of gay and lesbian theology. Argues that this theology has proven incapable of providing universally convincing reasons for the inclusion of lesbian and gay people and their relationships in the Church and unable to deal with the experience of AIDS crises.
Our Tribe: Queer Folks, God, Jesus, and the Bible by
An anecdotal account of Wilson's mission to radicalize the mainstream Church by proclaiming a "queer theology" that can lead all Christian folk--gay, lesbian, and straight--into the next millennium.
Queer Theology by
Summarizes the various apologetic arguments for the inclusion of queer people in Christianity. Argues for a queer theology that builds on the interconnection of theology with sex and money.
The Oxford Handbook of Theology, Sexuality, and Gender by
Presents an overview of the theological study of sexuality and gender. 40+ essays focused on new advances. Eight thematic sections, including methods, concepts, issues, controversies. History, theology, denominational politics treated. Exhaustive.
Transgender, Intersex and Biblical Interpretation by
Introduces terms for the various identities of trans people and how the Bible can affirm those deemed sexually "other." Biblical focus. Show how gender was not binary, and in the Bible gender and sex are always dynamic categories.
Homoeroticism in the Biblical World by
Attempts to sever ancient texts -- both biblical and nonbiblical -- from arguments in today's debates. Or at least complicate modern attempts to "appeal" to ancient sources.
Marriage and Sexuality in Early Christianity by
A representative sampling of early Christian thought. The goal of each volume is not to be exhaustive but representative enough to denote for a nonspecialist audience the multivalent character of early Christian thought. Online available.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies by
Includes 19-20th feminist + gender studies, more recent (e.g. queer studies), and more. Many methods and operative frameworks. Multi-volumes, 160+ entries. Bibliography + further reading.
The Oxford Handbook of New Testament, Gender, and Sexuality by
Introduces ancient Mediterranean conceptions of embodiment, sexual difference, and desire. Includes ongoing theological and social debates. Online available.
God's Beauty Parlor by
Critical commentary on sex and sexuality (via queer theory and masculinity studies) in NT texts. Themes of homoeroticism, masculinity, beauty, and violence.
God's Gym: Divine Male Bodies of the Bible by
Considers God's male bodies--e.g. the Father of Jesus Christ, and Jesus in the NT--and the modern quest for a perfect human form. God's Gym is about divinity, physical pain, and the visions of male perfectability.
Holy Misogyny: Why the Sex and Gender Conflicts in the Early Church Still Matter by
Seeks to understand the conflicts over sex and gender in the early church-what they were and what was at stake
Love Between Women: Early Christian Responses to Female Homoeroticism by
Landmark examination of female homoeroticism and the role of women in the ancient Roman world. Evidence includes marriages between women and condemnations of female homoerotic practices based on widespread awareness of love between women. Includes NT mentions of female homoeroticism.
New Testament Masculinities by
Collects themes of Christology, patriarchy, violence, colonialism, family structures, and sexual practices as it explores the construction and performance of masculinity in the NT. Examining the Gospels, Romans, the Pastorals,Revelation, and the Shepherd of Hermas, situates diverse masculinities within historical context.
The Corinthian Body by
In this discussion of Paul's first letter to the Corinthians, Martin contends that Paul's various disagreements with the Corinthians were the result of fundamental ideological conflict. Online available.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved