Handbooks offer subject introductions. They include brief histories of the subject in question, individual chapters on particular aspects of the subject, and bibliographies. Handbooks provide quick and accessible information on topics encountered when studying the New Testament.
Publishers often post their handbooks online. Access handbook databases with these links:
These samples demonstrate the types of topics treated in handbooks:
A Companion to the New Testament by
This revised edition follows the NRSV to provide a running commentary on the NT in light of most recent scholarship.
The Routledge Companion to Early Christian Thought by
Focused on Christian thought in the second and third centuries and for understanding immediate development of NT Christianity and its literature in historical context.
The Blackwell Companion to Paul by
Presents a distinctive dual-focus approach that encompasses both the historical Paul and the history of Paul's influence.
The Blackwell Companion to the New Testament by
Interdenominational introduction that treats each NT book systematically, beginning with a review of current issues and concluding with an annotated bibliography.
The Oxford Handbook of New Testament, Gender, and Sexuality by
Provides a roadmap to the scholarly research on gender and sexuality in New Testament studies, introducing both students and other scholars to the relevant problems, debates, and issues.
The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Apocrypha by
Addresses issues and themes that arise in the study of early Christian apocryphal literature, primarily historical context.
The Routledge Guidebook to the New Testament by
Geared towards helping modern-day readers to fully understand what the first-century authors were trying to say and how the first readers of the New Testament would have understood these ideas.
T&T Clark Handbook to Social Identity in the New Testament
A comprehensive handbook on the construction of social identity in the New Testament.
T&T Clark Handbook of Children and Childhood in the Biblical World by
Examines the presentation and role of children in the ancient world, specifically in ancient Jewish and Christian texts.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved