This subsection offers resources for various exegetical approaches to New Testament studies. Use the drop-down menu for information on select hermeneutic approaches.
Interpreting the New Testament by
A manual for exegetical work written for the serious student of the New Testament.
Hearing the New Testament: Strategies for Interpretation by
A collection of essays, contributed by different authors, on different approaches, perspectives and methods used in the reading and interpretation of the New Testament.
"New" approaches to exegesis emerge constantly, while old ones are revamped.
The titles or names of exegetical methods convey minimal information. Evaluate exegetical methods by these criteria:
To start out, consult an overview of exegetical methods like the following:
A Handbook to the Exegesis of the New Testament by
Theoretical and practical. Introduces various definitions of exegesis. Discussed methods include: textual criticism; linguistic analysis; genre criticism; source, form, and redaction criticism; discourse analysis; rhetorical and narratological criticism; literary criticism; and canonical criticism. Also includes "applications" section.
Dictionary of Biblical Criticism and Interpretation by
A methodology compilation volume with articles on popular interpreters and their methods, with theological / philosophical context to understand both. Compares approaches and conceptual models. Subject bibliographies.
Method and Meaning by
Concise introduction to exegetical methods. Part I focuses on brief introductory essays to past exegetical approaches. Then turns to recent methodologies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation by
Two volumes. Each entry includes bibliography and cross-references to other relevant entries. Focuses on methods of Biblical interpretation. Online available.
What They Don't Tell You: A Survivor's Guide to Biblical Studies by
University is not the same as Sunday school classes. This personalized account helps students with the transition, focusing on defining jargon, basic how-to's, and where to start.
@YALELIBRARY
© 2022 Yale University Library • All Rights Reserved