Academic programs – Use lowercase.  For the list of departments and programs, see http://www.yale.edu/departments/index.html .

Borrow Direct – Not BorrowDirect.  Use capitals.

Course guides – Not LibGuides, not class guides.  Use lower case.

Course reserves – Use lower case.

Database – Not data base.  Use lower case.

Digital collections – Use lower case.

eBook – Not e-Book, Ebook, etc.

eJournal – Not e-Journal, Ejournal, etc.

EliScholar – Not Eli Scholar.

Get It @Yale – Use capitals, no space between @ sign and Yale.

Off-campus access – Not remote access.  Use hyphen and lower case.

Personal librarian – Use lowercase.

Research guides – Not LibGuides. Refers to both course and subject guides. Use lower case.

Subject guides – Not LibGuides.  Use lowercase.

Subject specialists – Not Subject Librarians.  Use lower case.

Yale College majors – Use lower case for majors.  For the list of majors, see

Robert B. Haas Family Arts Library – Arts Library acceptable on second reference.

American Oriental Society

Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Library – Bass Library acceptable on second reference.

Babylonian Collection

Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library – Beinecke Library acceptable on second reference.  Note use of ampersand.

Marx Science and Social Science Library – Marx Library acceptable on second reference.  The Center acceptable for internal use only.  Note use of and.

Department of Area Studies and Humanities - DASHRS acceptable on second reference

African Collection

Classics Library

East Asia Library

Humanities Collections

Judaica Collection

Latin American & Iberian Collections

Near East collection

Slavic & East European Collections – Note use of ampersand.

Southeast Asia Collection

Divinity School Library – Divinity Library acceptable on second reference.

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies – The Archive (note capitalization) acceptable on second reference.

Geology Library

Lillian Goldman Law Library in Memory of Sol Goldman – Lillian Goldman Law Library acceptable on first reference.  Law Library acceptable on second reference.

Lewis Walpole Library

Manuscripts & Archives – Note use of ampersand. MSSA acceptable for internal use only.

Map Collection

Mathematics Library

Harvey Cushing / John Hay Whitney Medical Library – Cushing/Whitney Medical Library acceptable on first reference.  Medical Library acceptable on second reference.

Irving S. Gilmore Music Library – Music Library acceptable on second reference.

Sterling Memorial Library – SML acceptable on second reference.

Yale Center for British Art – The Center acceptable on second refere