Email message to the Order Support team at ost@mailman.yale.edu to request the purchase of a monograph for the Yale Publications Collection or the Hist MSS [Historical Manuscripts] Reference Collection.  The latter collection includes reference titles, such as SAA manuals, or books by or about our holdings for which the collections have no Yale University connection.  An example of a book with no Yale University connection is Scott Berg’s Lindbergh, published in 1998.  Titles cataloged in the Hist MSS Reference Collection are given Library of Congress call numbers.  Yale Publications Collection titles are cataloged with a Y call number.

 If the requested title is already held by Yale (must be the same edition):

 1)      Provide ost@mailman.yale.edu with the Orbis link (e.g., http://hdl.handle.net/10079/bibid/6757006)

 2)      Provide ost@mailman.yale.edu with the fund code.  Fund codes are the names for PTAEOs that are required for payment on a purchase order.

 3)      Provide ost@mailman.yale.edu with the Manuscripts and Archives Orbis location status:  smlyal

 4)      Inform ost@mailman.yale.edu that upon receipt of the item by the Acquisitions staff, the item should come to MSSA (attn:  Bill Massa) for cataloging.

 5)      Bill puts the book on the designated shelf in Nancy’s work area.  Any useful information, such as the author’s class year, whether the book should be cataloged as part of the Yale Publications Collection or for the Hist MSS Reference Collection, is provided.  Nancy will send the book to Steve Arakawa to be cataloged or assigned a Y call number.

 If the requested title is “not held by Yale” (different edition than already held by Yale or a new title):

1)      Provide ost@mailman.yale.edu with as much bibliographic information as possible.  This may include cataloging information from OCLC First Search, publishers catalog, etc.

 2)      Provide ost@mailman.yale.edu with the fund code.  Fund codes are the names for PTAEOs that are required for payment on a purchase order.

 3)      Provide ost@mailman.yale.edu with the Manuscripts and Archives Orbis location status:  smlyal

 4)      Inform ost@mailman.yale.edu that upon receipt of the item by the Acquisitions staff, the item should come to MSSA (attn:  Bill Massa) for cataloging.

 5)      Bill puts the book on the designated shelf in Nancy’s work area.  Any useful information, such as the author’s class year, whether the book should be cataloged as part of the Yale Publications Collection or for the Hist MSS Reference Collection, is provided.  She will send the book to be cataloged.