Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japan Studies: Research in Japan

useful guide

Prepare your research trip

images

Prepare Before You Go

Students are advised to do careful research and preparation prior to leaving Yale, as each library may have different restrictions and rules for outside scholars.

Access to English language resources on Japan in Japanese library collections is extremely limited, so students are strongly advised to carry out this preliminary research beforehand. However, if such access is needed, students are encouraged to check the International House Library homepage, as certain resources may be available to students there. 

Yale has a special agreement with University of Tokyo Library and Waseda University Library. (Please see below for the instructions). Yale affiliates planning to use other libraries affliated to universities during their stay in Japan should contact Haruko Nakamura, the Japanese Collection Librarian, well in advance of their departure, so that introductory letters can be issued.

Contact

Haruko Nakamura's picture
Haruko Nakamura
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library
120 High Street, New Haven, CT
Room 213A
203-432-1792
Website

Waseda University Library

Overview:

Yale University recently concluded an agreement with Waseda University in order to provide expanded library access privileges for Yale faculty and students. Waseda University is one of the premier private universities in Japan. It has a longstanding connection to Yale and to the Yale Library. Asakawa Kan’ichi, first Curator for the East Asian collections in the Yale Library, was a graduate of Tokyo Senmon Gakko, which later became Waseda University. It is the first Japanese institution to become a member of OCLC and has been involved with inter-library loan initiatives with North American institutions. The library has an atmosphere similar to U.S. academic libraries.

Joint Program Overview:

This joint program is designed to facilitate access to Waseda University libraries by Yale affiliates who are in Japan for individual research. Yale affiliates are allowed use of the entire Waseda library system, including its 29 libraries and 4.9 million-volume book collection.

Yale Affiliate Privileges:

Yale affiliates are allowed wide access to Waseda library collections beyond the restrictions normally placed on visiting scholars. Yale affiliates are allowed to use the collections for the duration of their stay free of charge, instead of the normal one week period designated for visiting scholars. However, students may not be allowed to check out books from the libraries. Photocopy service is available in certain libraries, but no printer or wireless access is available in the library.

Access:

Yale affiliates planning to use the library during their stay in Japan should contact Haruko Nakamura, the Japanese Collection Librarian, well in advance of their departure, so that an introductory notice may be sent to Waseda University beforehand.

Yale affiliates who are already in Japan should e-mail Haruko Nakamura, the Japanese Collection Librarian, as soon as possible prior to the date of intended library use, as Yale University Library must send a preliminary introductory notice directly to Waseda University before access to the libraries will be granted.

A sample introductory letter may be viewed here.

Waseda University Library Services:

Yale's agreement with University of Tokyo

Overview:

Yale University Library recently concluded an agreement with the University of Tokyo in order to provide expanded library privileges for Yale faculty and students. The University of Tokyo is considered the top-ranked university in Japan, a status it has maintained since prewar times when it was known as Tokyo Imperial University. It has been the top national university since 1945, and through the recently launched Todai-Yale Initiative, its collections are available for access to Yale University affiliates.

Joint Program Overview:

This joint program is designed to facilitate the use of the University of Tokyo library system by Yale affiliates who are in Japan for individual research. Yale affiliates are allowed to use the general library, as well as some departmental libraries within the University of Tokyo. Some departmental libraries are available for use by Yale affiliates. However, use of these departmental libraries should be confirmed in advance, as certain departments may not offer access to their libraries.

Yale Affiliate Privileges:

Yale affiliates will receive a library card that will allow them to check out books from the library. In addition, Yale affiliates will be allowed to use spaces on the first and second floors of the general library for computer use. Photocopy service is offered, but no printer access is available, and no wireless access is available.

Access:

Yale affiliates planning to use the library during their stay in Japan should contact Haruko Nakamura, the Japanese Collection Librarian, to receive an introductory letter for use at the library.

Yale affiliates who are already in Japan should e-mail Haruko Nakamura, the Japanese Collection Librarian, to receive an introductory letter via fax or mail for use at the library.

A sample introductory letter may be viewed here.

University of Tokyo Library Services: