Yale University Library Research Guides: Japan Studies: Arch3265a Destruction, Continuation, and Creation: Architecture and Urbanism of Modern Japan

terms for searching

Name of notable Japanese Architects

安藤忠雄 = Andō, Tadao
芦原義信= Ashinara, Yoshinobu
遠藤新 = Endō, Arata
藤井厚二 = Fujii, Kōji
藤森照信= Fujimori, Terunobu
藤本壮介= Fujimoto, Sou
原広司＝ Hara, Kōji
原浩司= Hara, Hiroshi
堀口捨己 = Horiguchi, Sutemi
磯崎新= Isozaki, Arata
伊藤忠太＝ Itō, Chūta
伊東豊雄= Itō, Toyoo
出江寛 = Izue, Hiroshi/Kan
蒲原重雄 = Kanbara, Shigeo
菊竹清訓 = Kikutake, Kiyonori
吉良森子= Kira, Moriko
隈研吾= Kuma, Kengo
久溜正道= Kuru, Masamichi
黒川紀章= Kurokawa, Kishō
槇文彦 = Maki, Fumihiko
前川國男= Maekawa, Kunio
本野精吾 = Motono, Seigo
村野藤吾 = Murano, Tōgo
野口勇 = イサム・ノグチ = Noguchi, Isamu
坂倉準三 = Sakakura, Junzō
佐野利器 = Sano, Toshiaki/Toshikata
重森三玲 = Shigemori, Mirei
篠原一男 = Shinohara, Kazuo
白井晟一 = Shirai, Seiichi
清家清 = Seike, Kiyoshi
妹島和世= Sejima, Kazuyo
高松伸 = Takamatsu, Shin
武田五一= Takeda, Goichi
谷口吉郎= Taniguchi, Yoshirō
谷口吉生= Taniguchi, Yoshio
丹下健三= Tange, Kenzō
辰野金吾= Tatsuno, Kingo
土浦亀城= Tsuchiura, Kameki
塚本由晴= Tsukamoto, Yoshiharu
上田篤= Ueda, Atsushi
内田祥三= Uchida, Shōzō/Yoshikazu
山田守＝ Yamada, Mamoru
山脇巌 + 道子 = Yaawaki, Iwao + Michiko
横河民輔= Yokokawa, Tamisuke

Terms

データ番号 = Data No.

作品名称 = Work Name/Work Title

建物用途 = Building Applications

建物所在 = Building Location

掲載誌 = Publication/Posted on

掲載年月 = Publication Date

設計者 = Designer/Architect

施工者 = Builder/Construction

竣工年月 = Completion Date

着工年月 = Construction Date

構造 = Structure

地上階数 = (Above) ground Floor

地下階数 = Underground Floor

能力 = Capacity/Ability

敷地面積 = Site Area

建築面積 = Building Area

延床面積 = Total Floor Area

外装 = Exterior

特徴 = Feature

備考= Remark

Research steps

References (dictionaries & encyclopedia, etc)

JAANUS: Japanese Architecture and Art Net Users System "This dictionary contains approximately 8000 terms related to traditional Japanese architecture and gardens, painting, sculpture and art-historical iconography from approximately the 1st century A.D. to the end of the Edo period (1868)."
Wiley Online Library Access to many reference, journal articles and online books including "A Companion to Japanese History" (2006), "The Handbook of Japanese Linguistics" (2001) and "A Companion to the Anthropology of Japan" (2008).

Journal article index & full text journals

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
This is the first place to look for articles related to Architectures.
Art & Architecture Source (FKA: Art Source)
Quicksearch Articles+ Articles+ is a single search for *most* of the library's other databases. It is a broad search, good for if you don't know where to start using a specific database.
Google Scholar Enter the the article title and click search. In the search results, locate the 'Cited By' number beneath each citation.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Searches both articles and book chapters related to Asian Studies in English.
International bibliography of art

Books and Dissertations

Discover books related to your topic, using simple terms like "Architecture, Domestic--Japan" and "Metabolism in architecture (Movement)" as subject browse in Orbis, Quicksearch, and WorldCat (FirstSearch)

Images

To find more various images of Japan, please check this page.

ARTstor ARTstor is an image database and presentation tool, which currently contains approximately 300,000 digital images. The image collections cover architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and many other forms of visual materials. All periods and many cultures are represented.
Asian Historical Architecture A photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage containing over 14,800 photos of 753 sites in twenty countries, with background information and virtual tours.
The Meiji and Taisho Eras in Photographs Includes selected photographic materials in publications held by the National Diet Library, classified by period and area (Kansai and Tokyo).

Architects - Biographies, Interviews, etc

OnArchitecture Vended Online Database An online audiovisual database featuring 100 videos of building projects, and 50 interviews with contemporary architects. It is a global scale project produced by Chilean architects embedded in over 1000 architecture schools and reaches nearly 3 million architecture students throughout the world. OnArchitecture's video catalog includes interviews with prominent architects, records of their main works and installations, as well as interviews with the users of the spaces.
Contemporary Japanese architects in design Introductions of Japanese architects including Tange Kenzó, Kurokawa Kishō , Isozaki Arata, Andō Tadao, Itō Toyoo, Sakamoto Kazunari, Fujimori Terunobu, Iijima Naoki, Sanaa, Sejima Kazuyo, Nishizawa Ryūe. Kuma Kengo, Atelier Bow-Wow. Abe Hitoshi. Tezuka Architects, Endō Shūei, Fujimoto Sou, Ishigami Jun'ya
Matter in the floating world conversations with leading Japanese architects and designers Interviews of Takaharu Tezuka, Kengo Kuma, Yasuhiro Yamashita, Oki Sato, Shigeru Ban, Kenya Hara, Kazuyo Sejima, Tadao Ando, Eriko Horiki, Terunobu Fujimori, Jun Aoki, Hitoshi Abe, Shuhei Endo, Reiko Sudo, Sachiko Kodama, Toyo Ito, Makoto Sei Watanabe, Akira Wakita, Tokujin Yoshioka, Masayo Ave.
Biographical dictionary of Japanese art Under the categories of painting, prints, calligraphy, photography, graphic design, sculpture, tea ceremony, architecture, gardens, ceramics, swords, metalwork and textiles, over 800 Japanese art figures from the Nara period to the end of the 1970s are introduced. This book may be useful for finding someone who is not very famous in the field. Although mainly Japanese books, the bibliographies of artists are listed at the end of the book.

Other resources for specific interests

Scenic Memento of Japan by the National Diet Library

Includes images of scenes from the 17th to the beginning of the 20th century Japan (linked together by region, period, and selected topics).

Vienna International Exposition

The digital recreation of The Vienna International Exposition (held in the capital of Austria in 1873), the 1st international exposition in which the Japanese government officially participated.

Other useful guides

Architecture Research @ Yale
East Asian Studies Image Resources Created by Christina Corrigan from Visual Resource Collections, this guide is the most comprehensive guide for web images for East Asia Studies.
Resource Guide to Japanese Studies: English Resources
Provides general resources (in English) on Japanese Studies available online.

Contact

Haruko Nakamura

Email Me

Contact:

Sterling Memorial Library
120 High Street, New Haven, CT
Room 213A

203-432-1792

Subjects: East Asian Studies

Other useful books in the library

Reinventing Tokyo: Japan's largest city in the artistic imagination

Great Modern Architecture in Japan = Nippon no modanizumu kenchiku 100
日本のモダニズム建築100 An special issue of Brutus CASA.

Showa Style: Saihen Kenchiku Shashin Bunko. 再編建築写真文庫

Urban Architecture in Meiji: A Visual Anthology.
図面で見る都市建築の明治

Forgone days of the Imperial Capital, Tokyo: Towns and Dwellings, Taisho and Showa Eras.
幻影の東京：大正・昭和の街と住まい

An illustrated guide to Japanese traditional architecture and everyday things Various things related to traditional Japanese architecture and everyday life are the focus of this illustrated guide. Interestingly, it is intended not only for English readers but also Japanese people who would like to be able to better explain certain things to people from outside their country. A huge number of items, objects, materials, structures, decorative elements, and so on that one encounters while visiting or living in Japan, but might be too obscure or specific to remember the names, or to even imagine from the term, are included in an accessible and very informative format. For each, the Japanese name, English name, and pronunciation are accompanied by an explanation.
A Guide to Japanese architecture 436 small photographs of building with name of architects, locations, building area, total floor area. Featured buildings are mostly from 1960s to 1980s. Additional 40 historical temples, shrines and gardens, etc are also featured with descriptive text. Buildings are divided by prefectures as well as indexed by architects and functions of buildings. English.

---- In Japanese without English captions ----

Nagano Shigeichi shashinshū, Tōkyō 1950-nendai
Photographs of Tokyo in 1950s

Photographs of Architecture in Meiji and Taisho Periods　(明治大正昭和建築写真聚覧）

Total of 359 photographs of Japanese representative architectures in the Meiji, Taisho, and Showa periods with information for Building name, architect, location, and completion date. There is also the online version of festered architecture in the Meiji and Taisho periods.

Kenchiku Showa Shi
建築昭和史 (History of architechure in Showa)

Meiji Taisho Showa Tōkyo shashin daishusei
明治・大正・昭和東京写真大集成 / 石黒敬章編・解說. (Photo collections of Tokyo in Meiji, Taisho and Showa)

Shashinshu, Kanto Daishinsai (Photo album: Kanto earthquake);
写真集, 関東大震災 / 北原糸子編.

Japan Studies: Arch3265a Destruction, Continuation, and Creation: Architecture and Urbanism of Modern Japan