Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japan Studies: Major Online Resources at Glance

Also check

J. Knowledge - Reference tools+

JapanKnowledge

A large collection of language dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical dictionaries, and other Japanese reference works. Below are all the contents in the database.  Click here for more information of individual sources.  

百科
日本大百科全書
(ニッポニカ)
ニッポニカ・プラス
 
日本語
日本国語大辞典
デジタル大辞泉
字通
数え方の辞典
 
歴史
国史大辞典
日本歴史地名大系
誰でも読める 日本史年表
江戸名所図会
 
英語
ランダムハウス英和大辞典
e-プログレッシブ英和中辞典
プログレッシブ和英中辞典
Encyclopedia of Japan
コウビルド米語版英英和辞典
CAMBRIDGE英英辞典
理化学英和辞典 
医学英和辞典
ヨーロッパ言語
(ポケットプログレッシブ)
独和・和独辞典
仏和・和仏辞典
西和・和西辞典
伊和・和伊辞典
羅和辞典
 
東アジア言語
(ポケットプログレッシブ)
中日・日中辞典
韓日・日韓辞典
  
用語・情報
情報・知識 imidas
現代用語の基礎知識
会社四季報
法律用語辞典
デジタル大辞泉プラス
 
人名・文化
日本人名大辞典
JK Who’s Who
デジタル版 集英社世界文学大事典
日本人物文献目録
新版 能・狂言事典
新版 歌舞伎事典
 
科学
デジタル化学辞典
法則の辞典
 
マルチメディア
マルチメディア
 
記事・コラム
週刊エコノミスト
日本の論点
NNA:アジア&EU国際情報
平成ニッポン生活便利帳
 
叢書・URL 
群書類聚
風俗画法
東洋文庫
新編 日本古典文学全集
文庫クセジュ
ニッポニカURLセレクト
 
ライブラリ
Rand McNally世界地図
古事類苑
映像記録
NHK世界遺産映像
NHK「もういちど、日本」
NHK「アインシュタインの眼」
大自然ビデオライブラリ
図解アニメーション
ミュージックライブラリ
サウンドライブラリ
国旗・国歌総一覧

Other Reference Tools

Encyclopedias

Language / Character Dictionaries

E-J / J-E dictionaries

Biographies

Bibliographies

Dissertations

 

Images, Audio, Film, etc

Images

Films /  Moving images

Audio

Find Articles / Books Chapters

To read explanations of databases, bring the cursor to each list.  For more information about finding journal articles / book chapeters, click here

Subjects Specific Databases

Literatures

HIstory

Art History

Religion

Performing Arts

Business/Finance

Full-text Databases

To read explanations of databases, bring the cursor to each list. 

Online Newspapers/Journals

To read explanations of databases, bring the cursor to each list.  For more information about all the newspapers resources, click here

Japanese language

English language

How to subscribe to databases

For Future Consideration

Yale does not subscribe to the following databases. If you find those databases below useful, please contact us