Yale University Library Research Guides: Japan Studies: Gov. doc.

Laws and regulations

Guides to congressional documents
Japanese law translation
Ministry of Justice provides the site to search Japanese laws and their translations, legal terms in Japanese to English and words in contents in both languages.
法令データ提供システム
法令（憲法・法律・政令・勅令・府令・省令・規則）の内容を検索して提供します

Congressional Documents

Guides to congressional documents
国会会議事録検索システム
国会の本会議および委員会等の会議録を検索
帝国議会会議録検索システム
"帝国議会全会期（明治23年11月～昭和22年3月）の本会議・委員会の速記録を、デジタル画像でご利用いただけます。昭和20年9月以降の速記録については、発言内容からの検索やテキストによる閲読もできます。"

Government offices

Guides to government office documents
Guides to find white papers, public opinions, statistics.
外交政策 = Foreign Policy
Excellent link by Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) for documents of foreign policies on many subjects includes historical issues, emigration, environment, human rights, international law and treaties, etc. There are also link to documents in English language under English page, but the content is not the same.
Countries & Regions
MOFA sites also provide over 180 countries basic data, recent topics, VIP visits to Japan & their meetings, related archives and useful links.
Government Gazette 官報 (NDL)
Government gazette published between 1883 and 1952 and English version of kanpo OFFICIAL GAZETTE; ENGLISH EDITION from 1946 to 1952 are available to be viewed.

Judicial presedents

Guides to Judicial presedents
Hanrei kensaku 判例検索 Some cort rulings are searchable through this database.
Judgments of the Supreme Court The English version n of the Hanrei Kensaku database provides the translations of rulings, although the number of cases translated is very small.
The Supreme Court
List of supreme court procedure casebook. Some are available online.
Lower court rulings
Lists of resources divided by civil and criminal courts
Other specialized courts

Bibliographies in English

Japanese government documents and censored publications : a checklist of the microfilm collection Index to government documents and censored publications that were seized during the Occupation of Japan and preserved in microfilm format which were held in Library of Congress. While this index does not cover all the sources in the microfilms, there were two other indexes were published. See below.
Censored Japanese serials of the pre-1946 period : a checklist of the microfilm collection
1994 edition of this checklist is supplement to the ones published in 1992.
The Allied occupation of Japan, 1945-1952: an annotated bibliography of Western-language materials. Very detailed annotations of U.S. and Japanese government documents, books, and newspaper & journal articles on Allied occupation of Japan. Most of all the sources introduced in this bibliography are in English language.

Foriegn Gov. documents on Japan

U.S. military intelligence reports: Japan, 1918-1941

"The records consist of United States military intelligence reports relating to military, political, and economic affairs in Japan. The intelligence reports are based upon interviews with military and government officials, surveillance of activities of political parties, and extensive eyewitness coverage of military action. The reports reflect both the complexity and the global significance of events in Japan between the world wars."

British documents on foreign affairs-reports and papers from the foreign office confidential print. Series East Asia

Part I 1860-1914 ; Part II 1914-1939 ; Part III 1940 -1945

Papers relating to the foreign relations of the United States. Japan: 1931-1941

Washington: U.S. Govt. Print Off, 1943.

One Year of Japanese Occupation of Manchuria. Nanking.

International Relations Committee. China: International Relations Committee [1932]

Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records Japan 1914- 1941

Frederick, MD : University Publications of America, 1983.