Yale University Library Research Guides: Japan Studies: Maps and place names

Guides

リサーチナビ：地図をさがす
Find a variety of maps of Japan and the world. Sections like 地図の種類 and 地図資料の検索 are useful for generally understanding Japanese maps.

Answering these questions first will help you to find the right maps for your research:

Once you've answered those questions, there are many tools for locating maps. The guide below will help you to figure out the next steps.

Japanese Historical Maps (University of California, Berkeley)
Access to more than 200 images from about 100 early maps. Includes rare woodblock print maps of Edo (now Tokyo).
Japanese Maps of the Tokugawa Era (The University of British Columbia)
Nichibunken 所蔵地図データベース
"近世の都市地図を中心に、日文研が所蔵している地図データベースである。"
Nichibunken 長崎古地図データベース
"長崎市立博物館所蔵の長崎古地図のうち日文研が撮影したカラー画像221点についてデジタル化し、あわせて長崎市立博物館編『長崎市立博物館資料目録：図書・地図・写真資料編／長崎市立博物館編』掲載の目録データのうち関係する目録データをデータベースにしたものである."
Present maps
地図センター電子国土サイト
Provides maps of Japanese public facilities, main mountains (1003), government institutions (9,600), schools (43,400), post offices (24,800), etc. Plug-in is needed.

Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei 日本歴史地名大系 (JK)
Based on the printed version, this online database provides historical information about the history, lifestyle and culture of approximately 200,000 famous places, including those mentioned in early texts such as Fudoki, Man'yoshu, Kojiki and Nihon Shoki; places famous in modern history; and significant topographical information.
more...less...
The information is related to the natural history of the nation. The online version allows for the full-text search and quick cross-referencing of locations whose names have changed over time. An interactive map interface allows users to view certain historical maps from the Meiji Fukkatsu Chizu collection (1884-1887), with a larger selection of historical maps available in PDF format. This database is included in the JapanKnowledge database. Patrons must begin their search of Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei, by accessing JapanKnowledge first.
Kadokawa Nihon Chimei Daijiten 角川日本地名大辞典
A comprehensive reference for place names. Each prefecture is covered in one volume with lists of cities and towns, histories, chronologies and general information on locations.
Present towns and cities
Japan Post Office ゆうびんホームページ郵便番号検索
This site provides address information and readings for prefectures, wards, towns and districts in Japan. Search by place name or zip code.