Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japan Studies: English Resources

Guide

A research guide for print and online resources related to East Asian studies at the Yale University Library

This guide provides quick references to both print and online resources for East Asian studies in western languages. 

 

Japanese Studies Primary Sources in Western Languages

The guide aims to provide an overview of English-language primary source materials in Yale's collections related to the study of Japan.

 

Sources of Japanese tradition Introduction to Asian civilizations

v. 1. From earliest times through 1600 -- v. 2. 1600-2000.

Online book is avaliable for vol. 1.

This two-volume work is a comprehensive collection of translated excerpts from source materials dating back to the earliest Chinese records of Japan. It can be useful as a bibliographic guide to find full text editions of some sources.

 

While dated, Henry Smith's homepage contains a large number of bibliographies and other useful references, based on courses at Columbia.

 

 

 

Start from here!

Please visit A research guide for print and online resources related to East Asian studies at the Yale University Library as the first step in your research process. 

 

This guide provides quick references to both print and online resources for East Asian studies in western languages, including primary sources, reference sources, web resources, as well as research tools to find books, newspaper and journal articles, theses, image resources, etc.

Biblographies for Japanese materials

Contact

Haruko Nakamura's picture
Haruko Nakamura
Contact:
Sterling Memorial Library
120 High Street, New Haven, CT
Room 213A
203-432-1792
Website