Yale University Library Research Guides: Japan Studies: HIST 304J 01 (SP21): Japanese Historical Documents

Databases and apps

JapanKnowledge A large collection of language dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographical dictionaries, and other Japanese reference works for Japanese-only searches of historical terms and figures. It includes abbreviate version of the Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan in English and full-text coverage of the Tōyō Bunko and Shūkan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist).
手書きくずし字検索
くずし字学習支援アプリKuL‪A‬

For kana paleography

Character Dictionaries

Dai Kan-Wa jiten 大漢和辞典 "Morohashi" dictionary. The most authoritative character dictionary, which lets you to search idioms.
The New Nelson Japanese-English Character Dictionary This edition of Nelson contain numbers which corresponds with Morohashi's character dictionary (大漢和辞典).

Language Dictionary

Nihon kokugo daijiten 日本国語大辞典 (JK) One of most important Japanese language dictionaries, it contains about 500,000 entries with 1,000,000 sample sentences listed by gojūon. Also found in the JapanKnowledge database. (Just click ログイン button at upper left corner of JapanKnowledge.)
more...less...
They are also available in book format in East Asia Library Reference. (Call# PL675 N54 2000)

Geographical Dictionaries

Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei 日本歴史地名大系 (JK) Based on the printed version, this online database provides historical information about the history, lifestyle and culture of approximately 200,000 famous places, including those mentioned in early texts such as Fudoki, Man'yoshu, Kojiki and Nihon Shoki; places famous in modern history; and significant topographical information.
more...less...
The information is related to the natural history of the nation. The online version allows for the full-text search and quick cross-referencing of locations whose names have changed over time. An interactive map interface allows users to view certain historical maps from the Meiji Fukkatsu Chizu collection (1884-1887), with a larger selection of historical maps available in PDF format. This database is included in the JapanKnowledge database. Patrons must begin their search of Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei, by accessing JapanKnowledge first.
Kadokawa Nihon Chimei Daijiten 角川日本地名大辞典 A comprehensive reference for place names. Each prefecture is covered in one volume with lists of cities and towns, histories, chronologies and general information on locations.

Translations

On-line Glossary of Japanese Historical Terms By the Historiographical Institute at the University of Tokyo (Click database list and located under 'Tools'). It allows you to search for terms in English, French, German and Japanese (romaji, hiragana, and/or kanji). The database returns works (in all these languages) that contain the relevant term, and also serves as a useful tool for translation. To search using a non-Japanese term, enter the term (or terms) and click the 全文検索 button; to search using a romanized term, click the 語

Local government

Kunibetsu han to jōkamachi no jiten 国別藩と城下町の事典 Exhaustive records of 546 clans of the Edo period and complete data on 100 important castle towns (城下町).
Kinsei hansei, hankō daijiten 近世藩制・藩校大事典 A detailed and precise encyclopedia that covers approx. 540 clans (藩) and their schools (藩校) that sustained the early Modern period of Japan. Comments on basic keywords, illustrated guides as well as the comprehensive list of references are also included.

Kuzushi / Cursive Writing Dictionaries

Kuzushiji yōrei jiten くずし字用例辞典 A dictionary of 6,406 cursive (くずし字) characters, conveniently indexed by stroke count of radical. The dictionary also includes many example sentences.
Kuzushiji kaidoku jiten くずし字解読辞典 This dictionary enables the user to trace standard style 楷書体 of the くずし字characters. The dictionary by strokes. The appendix also includes lists and analysis of カタカナ, ひらがな and 変体がな, as well as a variety of example usages of くずし字.

Dictionaries

Textbooks

Other Guides

Kyoto maps from Beinecke

元治改正京名所道ノ枝折圖 Title: Kyō meisho michi go-shiori nozu [Illustrated guide to the streets of Kyoto] At the head of lith: Genji Kaisei [i.e. rev 1864]. Published / Created : 1864 Publication Place: Kyoto Description: Orig. publ. 1810. Extent: 1 map ; 84 x 37 cm.
[Map of Kyoto] 1833 天保四年癸巳春改正新板京三条通寺町西へ入北側池田東籬亭考正中村有楽斉図画
[Map of Kyoto] 1863

Kyoto Komonjo 京都古文書

Kyoto Gion Matsuri　京都祇園祭